Anna's Linguica and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Amazing!! My husband and I absolutely loved it!! I used Polska Kielbasa instead of the sausage because we couldn't find any in our area, but still a wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Wow! This was so good! Can't figure out why some said was lacking in flavor because mine came out delicious! I took the skin off my sausage and eyeballed in the potatoes. Maybe about a pound. I used a half pound of bacon since there was only 3 slices left after I took the 6 slices out. I didn't have zucchini so I chopped up some carrots, and fresh baby corn and sliced mushrooms since that is what I had. I followed the directions frying in batches. I fried the carrots with the onions and 3 cloves garlic. Then the sausage and then I also cooked the potatoes to give them a head start and added the mushrooms towards the end. Added all to crock with an extra 8 oz. can of sauce . I added 3/4 cup Merlot wine. Will use the zucchini also the next time. The more veggies the better for me. Cooked on low at first but then cranked it up on high until done and everyone raved how good it was. The baby corn stayed crisp and it was so good. Followed all the other ingredients. This is one of the best stews we have ever had!! It's a keeper! Yummy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I really liked this recipe even tho i didnt think i would. I added an extra can of tomato sauce as someone else suggested and used red potatoes. I used the hot linguica which was too spicy for my husband but i LOVED! Next time ill use the mild or regular sausage so not to upset his tummy. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Everyone loved it. I have only made Linguica with egg and or pepper sandwiches. This was a nice dish and smelled as great as it tastes. I like to remove the skin from the Linguica as well as other types of sausages. Otherwise followed the directions and it was perfect. (I think different types of potatoes cook better in crockpots, try small white or red potatoes they cooked up fine in the amount of time stated.) Served with warm Portugese Bread. (I downsized the recipe to serve 8 and it came out great using a 4qt crock pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGLADY8767

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use for my son's venison kielbasa. This one worked great! My entire family loved it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I went to the store thinking I would not beable to find linguica sausage but I did and it was very good. I have no complaints with this recipe and thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Hearty and good- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The whole Family Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My family is Portugese and we have traditionally had linguica as a breakfast meat. I made the stew for my father and his sister 2 weeks ago and then made it for my children last week. I would make it every week if I had an easy access to linguica! I didnt use a slow cooker, but cooked it slowly on the stovetop. It was YUMMY. This is an excellent recipe that I will use time and time again! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved it! The only way we've ever eaten linguica is to wrap it in foil with potatoes and bake or grill...which is good, but not something you'd serve to guests or bring to a potluck. You need to have one of the larger crockpots though. oh, and I omitted the bacon and did not miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States