Anna's Linguica and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I had to go to a local Mexican grocery store (there are not that many here in Virginia Beach, Virginia!!) to find the linguica. But I'm glad I pursued it; the linguica really made a difference. I think if I had given up and substituted it for regular sausage I would have missed out on all the wonderful flavor it add to the stew. The only change I made was less potatoe's; 3 lbs was a ton!! Plus I had to add 1 cup of water to make it stew like; otherwise it would have been more like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Strange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was a wonderful comfort food. I used Hot linguica which gave it a nice kick. I also only used 1 pound of white potatoes. The second time I made it, I added a can of hominy. The flavor was incredible. It was great with sourdough bread. I wanted a little more sauce so I used 1 cup wine and three cans tomato sauce. This recipe does taste better over time. The second and third days later were even better. Thanks for a great recipe. Another time, I did not have zucchini so I added a can of corn and a can of green beans. Still added a cup of wine. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was pretty good. It took about 3.5 hours to get the potatoes cooked all the way- next time I'll cut them smaller so they don't take so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved it! The only way we've ever eaten linguica is to wrap it in foil with potatoes and bake or grill...which is good, but not something you'd serve to guests or bring to a potluck. You need to have one of the larger crockpots though. oh, and I omitted the bacon and did not miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe! I changed the zucchini to carrots and use 1 can of kitchen ready tomoatoes instead of sauce. This way, there's lots of extra juice to soak up with a good bread! A small shot of tabasco doesn't hurt either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My family is Portugese and we have traditionally had linguica as a breakfast meat. I made the stew for my father and his sister 2 weeks ago and then made it for my children last week. I would make it every week if I had an easy access to linguica! I didnt use a slow cooker, but cooked it slowly on the stovetop. It was YUMMY. This is an excellent recipe that I will use time and time again! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Freeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Really good! We all loved it! As I filled my crock pot, there was no way all those zucchini and potatoes would fit. So I used 2 zucchini and 4 small potatoes. Because I live in an area with a large Basque population, linguica is easy to find, but until now, I'd only had it as a pizza topping. Now I have something new to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The whole Family Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Hearty and good- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I went to the store thinking I would not beable to find linguica sausage but I did and it was very good. I have no complaints with this recipe and thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States