Anna's German Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
These were not good at all. My family wouldn't even eat them and I thought my husband would eat anything! Maybe to many eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I didn't really like these a whole lot - they were all right. My husband thought they were similar to ones he had as a kid, but he didn't seem to be all that thrilled with them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
what is the last cup of flour on the recipe used for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
The ultimate recipe; thx for sharing. I added a few of my own touches (minced onion, parsley flakes and baking powder). This is not saying the recipe is not perfect just the way it it, however, because it is. I also microwave bacon and crumble some in when I want just a little change. I am grateful for you sharing this recipe of your grandmas, Jonell. (Those along with the mom's recipes are the best by far!) Everyone marveled over the Dumplings and they did not last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just didn't care for the texture of these. They didn't taste bad but I thought they were eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are wonderful dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly making no changes. I make these for my husband who loves dumplings. They are good with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were great! I made chicken dumpling soup and it was so tasty. For the soup I used water, chicken bullion, chicken soup base, carrots, green beans, corn, chicken breast and sage, sweet basil leaf and pepper to flavor. I boiled about 5 min. longer with the lid on- make sure you do not peek at your dumplings while they are cooking with the lid on- they will turn out better. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I destroyed these! I didn't look at the number of servings and since I've never made dumplings before, I didn't know how big they'd get! I needed maybe 1/4 of what the recipe makes. I added them to chicken soup, followed the recipe, and it turned into a burnt chicken..slop. So just remember that this recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I need a grandmother's touch with these. They were good but I'm partial to matzah dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I hadn't had dumplings in years. But this is not how I remember them. These were tough and lumpy. No one ate them. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States