Anna's Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was the first custard pie I'd ever made. I took it for Christmas dinner and it was quite the hit! I do think that maybe something that could use to be noted is that the cook time was longer than on the recipe page. It took me about 35 minutes to get it to set, at 400F. I was using a gas stove, which may have been the reason. Regardless, it was a very tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Perfect custard pie. It got the five- star rating from my husband, who grew up in Massachusetts where these pies are very traditional. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This was the first custard I've ever made, and my hubby and baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I found that from past experience that if you scald the milk instead of using it cold, it will set the pie quicker. I scalded the milk and it took 25 minutes to bake. It was good but tasted somewhat flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I thought this was good. It did, however, take forEVER to set and I ended up baking it for about an hour!! I used a graham cracker crust. We had it on Thanksgiving and everyone seemed to enjoy it as a nice change from the usual. My sister said it tasted like quiche and that she would have a leftover piece for breakfast the next morning! :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to half and made in a small springform pan. I used Chef John's pie crust recipe (excellent). I had to bake it for about 40 minutes though. 15 minutes is definitely not enough. I LOVE the flavor. It was very easy to do. It's almost like eating flan without the caramel and inside a pastry crust :o) Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Pie tasted great, was easy and had a great texture. It took about 35 minutes to set for me. I like a little more spice so think I will add a smidge more nutmeg and some cinnamon. Thanks for theecipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
it takes closer to 45 minutes to cook, not 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey Hehn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This came out great! It took about 34m to set in my oven, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Easy and not too sweet! But did have to bake longer than time on recipe. My family loved it! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States