Anna's Amazing Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Oh Anna, you did such a good job with this recipe! My family loves soups and stews on a chilly fall or winter N.J. night and you've come up with a winner! Nothing like comfort food to warm the tummies of your loved ones. I couldn't find lamb stewing meat so I had no choice but to eliminate it. I added a little gravy master at the end for flavor, only used beef stock; no water for the liquid and thickened this beautiful stew with some corn starch. Trust me friends, no need to serve over noodles; this dish stands wonderfully alone. My hubby thanks you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful soup/stew. It does take some time, but is worth every minute. I doubled the recipe which allowed for plenty to freeze for future quick meals. Everyone loved this and it will be a regular on the winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
What a great stew! My husband went ape over it. He ate it for lunch and dinner all week. The third day was the best. The flavors blended so well! I didn't have stewing pork, so I used thick boneless pork chops from Costco, then I slow cooked the meat to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made this recipe for the adjusted 8 servings, following the amounts pretty much exactly, adding a little more meat. Couldn't get lamb so subbed veal. I did leave out the bread crumbs because I wanted the consistency to be like thick soup and not too thick. I would also cut the paprika from 2T. to 1T. and adjust later although the way I made it was delicious. I just know this soup will be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! I made this for friends and they were raving on how good it was. I only made a few slight changes: Instead of adding water, which would have been too much liquid, I added more beef broth. Also, I cut the vinegar to just 1/2 cup. A whole bulb of garlic sounded like too much for me, so I just used a few cloves. I didn't add the bread crumbs, just cornstarch to thicken at the end. I also am not a fan of peas or parsnips, so I used turnip instead. And as far as the meat, I used 2 lbs of beef stew and 1 lb of pork stew meat. I am definately sending this recipe to friends. It's a keeper for sure! Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My husband absolutely LOVED this goulash! The goulash gets better on the second day. The recipe makes A LOT but it's so good. I used what I had on hand. I used all beef stew meat (no lamb or pork). I reduced the vinegar to 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup of flour, left our the bread crumbs and left out the potatoes. Thanks Anna for sharing! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Anna, This recipe is a great base and allows for many variations! Good Job! To readers, absolutely try as is - but then experiment. I use double the tomat's. I do not use the beef broth bc I end up with ton of juice from cooking raw stew meat. Also, try substituting a flavorful sausage instead of the bacon. Thnakx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Even without the lamb and pork (didn't have either in), and used regular paprika, this was one of the best stews I've had! The beer gives it an interesting, but nice, flavor that is very distinct. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I threw in noodles instead of bread crumbs for the last 20 min. to soak up the liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Good hearty stew. Made enough for 10 people with leftovers. I made it ahead of time to enhance the flavor as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States