Anna's Amazing Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Oh Anna, you did such a good job with this recipe! My family loves soups and stews on a chilly fall or winter N.J. night and you've come up with a winner! Nothing like comfort food to warm the tummies of your loved ones. I couldn't find lamb stewing meat so I had no choice but to eliminate it. I added a little gravy master at the end for flavor, only used beef stock; no water for the liquid and thickened this beautiful stew with some corn starch. Trust me friends, no need to serve over noodles; this dish stands wonderfully alone. My hubby thanks you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
An excellent blend of flavors, worth the effort. I highly suggest making it a day ahead. The vinegar and caraway were overpowering the day I made it but, were well balanced the next day. The red pepper was a little much for me but, family members thought it was great. I made this in a pressure cooker and had great success. I will make this again and again, thick, hearty and warming on a night when central NY is in the throws of a noreaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful soup/stew. It does take some time, but is worth every minute. I doubled the recipe which allowed for plenty to freeze for future quick meals. Everyone loved this and it will be a regular on the winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
An amazing dish! You won't find a heartier and more flavorful dinner on a cold winter day. We left out the lamb as I'm not a fan by any stretch but you won't miss it. There so many delicious things and flavors going on! If I would make any change at all, I would use half the red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing Anna. It's a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is a wonderful dish -- flavorful and filling and worth the work to make! I used a slow cooker to cook the stew until the meat was tender, then put on the stove in a larger pot for addition of remaining ingredients. Also found no need of the breadcrumbs to thicken. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! I made this for friends and they were raving on how good it was. I only made a few slight changes: Instead of adding water, which would have been too much liquid, I added more beef broth. Also, I cut the vinegar to just 1/2 cup. A whole bulb of garlic sounded like too much for me, so I just used a few cloves. I didn't add the bread crumbs, just cornstarch to thicken at the end. I also am not a fan of peas or parsnips, so I used turnip instead. And as far as the meat, I used 2 lbs of beef stew and 1 lb of pork stew meat. I am definately sending this recipe to friends. It's a keeper for sure! Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
What a great stew! My husband went ape over it. He ate it for lunch and dinner all week. The third day was the best. The flavors blended so well! I didn't have stewing pork, so I used thick boneless pork chops from Costco, then I slow cooked the meat to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Anna, This recipe is a great base and allows for many variations! Good Job! To readers, absolutely try as is - but then experiment. I use double the tomat's. I do not use the beef broth bc I end up with ton of juice from cooking raw stew meat. Also, try substituting a flavorful sausage instead of the bacon. Thnakx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
The meat came out well. I only used beef cubes which came out nice and tender. I did not add quite as much flour as called for because it seemed to get so thick with just half a cup. I did not add the bread crumbs or cabbage, but I don't think that was a big loss. Next time I will add more beef & veggies and cut down on the amount of fluids total (is vinegar, beef stock, beer AND water really necessary?) There was quite a bit of stock that came out of this. Oh! And it could use a dollop of sour cream on each serving. I really consider this a 3.5 star recipe. There is a lot of potential, with personal tweakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Way too bitter for me and I didn't even add the beer which would have added to the bitterness. Won't be making this again. Gave it a 2 because I liked the idea of the bacon, caraway and paprika. Will try those ingredients again in my normal stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States