Anna's Amazing Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Oh Anna, you did such a good job with this recipe! My family loves soups and stews on a chilly fall or winter N.J. night and you've come up with a winner! Nothing like comfort food to warm the tummies of your loved ones. I couldn't find lamb stewing meat so I had no choice but to eliminate it. I added a little gravy master at the end for flavor, only used beef stock; no water for the liquid and thickened this beautiful stew with some corn starch. Trust me friends, no need to serve over noodles; this dish stands wonderfully alone. My hubby thanks you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
An excellent blend of flavors, worth the effort. I highly suggest making it a day ahead. The vinegar and caraway were overpowering the day I made it but, were well balanced the next day. The red pepper was a little much for me but, family members thought it was great. I made this in a pressure cooker and had great success. I will make this again and again, thick, hearty and warming on a night when central NY is in the throws of a noreaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful soup/stew. It does take some time, but is worth every minute. I doubled the recipe which allowed for plenty to freeze for future quick meals. Everyone loved this and it will be a regular on the winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
An amazing dish! You won't find a heartier and more flavorful dinner on a cold winter day. We left out the lamb as I'm not a fan by any stretch but you won't miss it. There so many delicious things and flavors going on! If I would make any change at all, I would use half the red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing Anna. It's a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is a wonderful dish -- flavorful and filling and worth the work to make! I used a slow cooker to cook the stew until the meat was tender, then put on the stove in a larger pot for addition of remaining ingredients. Also found no need of the breadcrumbs to thicken. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! I made this for friends and they were raving on how good it was. I only made a few slight changes: Instead of adding water, which would have been too much liquid, I added more beef broth. Also, I cut the vinegar to just 1/2 cup. A whole bulb of garlic sounded like too much for me, so I just used a few cloves. I didn't add the bread crumbs, just cornstarch to thicken at the end. I also am not a fan of peas or parsnips, so I used turnip instead. And as far as the meat, I used 2 lbs of beef stew and 1 lb of pork stew meat. I am definately sending this recipe to friends. It's a keeper for sure! Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
What a great stew! My husband went ape over it. He ate it for lunch and dinner all week. The third day was the best. The flavors blended so well! I didn't have stewing pork, so I used thick boneless pork chops from Costco, then I slow cooked the meat to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Way too bitter for me and I didn't even add the beer which would have added to the bitterness. Won't be making this again. Gave it a 2 because I liked the idea of the bacon, caraway and paprika. Will try those ingredients again in my normal stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Anna, This recipe is a great base and allows for many variations! Good Job! To readers, absolutely try as is - but then experiment. I use double the tomat's. I do not use the beef broth bc I end up with ton of juice from cooking raw stew meat. Also, try substituting a flavorful sausage instead of the bacon. Thnakx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
The meat came out well. I only used beef cubes which came out nice and tender. I did not add quite as much flour as called for because it seemed to get so thick with just half a cup. I did not add the bread crumbs or cabbage, but I don't think that was a big loss. Next time I will add more beef & veggies and cut down on the amount of fluids total (is vinegar, beef stock, beer AND water really necessary?) There was quite a bit of stock that came out of this. Oh! And it could use a dollop of sour cream on each serving. I really consider this a 3.5 star recipe. There is a lot of potential, with personal tweakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States