Anna's Amazing Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My husband absolutely LOVED this goulash! The goulash gets better on the second day. The recipe makes A LOT but it's so good. I used what I had on hand. I used all beef stew meat (no lamb or pork). I reduced the vinegar to 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup of flour, left our the bread crumbs and left out the potatoes. Thanks Anna for sharing! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
The meat came out well. I only used beef cubes which came out nice and tender. I did not add quite as much flour as called for because it seemed to get so thick with just half a cup. I did not add the bread crumbs or cabbage, but I don't think that was a big loss. Next time I will add more beef & veggies and cut down on the amount of fluids total (is vinegar, beef stock, beer AND water really necessary?) There was quite a bit of stock that came out of this. Oh! And it could use a dollop of sour cream on each serving. I really consider this a 3.5 star recipe. There is a lot of potential, with personal tweakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
that was delicious although it took a very long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I fixed this recipe on a weekend my son brought home 3 of his team mates from his college football team. Believe me it was barely enough, Ha! Ha!. Glad I found this recipe. The boys loved it. There was just enough left over for each of them to take a small container home. Next time I fix it I will reduce the amount of red vinager. It was a little overpowering for me. Instead of peas I used fresh mushrooms. My family doesnt eat peas. Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! I made this for friends and they were raving on how good it was. I only made a few slight changes: Instead of adding water, which would have been too much liquid, I added more beef broth. Also, I cut the vinegar to just 1/2 cup. A whole bulb of garlic sounded like too much for me, so I just used a few cloves. I didn't add the bread crumbs, just cornstarch to thicken at the end. I also am not a fan of peas or parsnips, so I used turnip instead. And as far as the meat, I used 2 lbs of beef stew and 1 lb of pork stew meat. I am definately sending this recipe to friends. It's a keeper for sure! Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was good, but not quite as good as I was hoping for all the work. It made a TON, so we have plenty frozen and it did taste better the next day. My wife suggested just beef next time instead of the three different meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made this recipe for the adjusted 8 servings, following the amounts pretty much exactly, adding a little more meat. Couldn't get lamb so subbed veal. I did leave out the bread crumbs because I wanted the consistency to be like thick soup and not too thick. I would also cut the paprika from 2T. to 1T. and adjust later although the way I made it was delicious. I just know this soup will be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Excellent recipe! It was alot of work though. It made enough to feed an army which was great, it freezes beautifully. Will def. make again for those cold winter nights! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
What a great stew! My husband went ape over it. He ate it for lunch and dinner all week. The third day was the best. The flavors blended so well! I didn't have stewing pork, so I used thick boneless pork chops from Costco, then I slow cooked the meat to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful soup/stew. It does take some time, but is worth every minute. I doubled the recipe which allowed for plenty to freeze for future quick meals. Everyone loved this and it will be a regular on the winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States