Anisette Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The dough is very sticky and soft ... you should not be tempted to add more flour or use your hands to shape. I scoop up a spoonful of dough with a soup size spoon and lay it on the cookie sheet and keep doing that until I have several spoonfuls of dough laying next to and touching each other in a very crude shaped log. Then I take a rubber spatula and push/pat it into a log shape about 10-12" long, about 4" wide and 1/2" high (each log). This dough is very soft but will bake up into shape. Hope this helps everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
As I was making this recipe I began to think I had done something wrong. I didn't think these would turn out at all but I was wrong. I'm making these a new staple in my home. Next time I might get fancy and dip the tops in chocolate and shredded almonds. The only change I made was I used vanilla and almond extract because I didn't have anise extract. Thank you for sharing linda I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are better than delicious! I cut off the ends and ate them while the cookies were baking and they are so delicious I am pulling them out of the oven to eat because they are THAT good!!!! I am a big Stella Dora Anisette toast, but I can't get them where I am in Hawaii and these blow them away. So incredibly delicious!!!! Thank you thank you thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealafly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
these were very good well enjoyed by my co-workers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were really good especially dunked in coffee. I followed Linda's advice on how to shape them. It was really a good idea. Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! I have been searching for a really good anisette toast recipe, and this is it. Just the right amount of anise flavor and perfect for dunking. For variety, you could also dunk ends in dark dipping chocolate and chopped nuts. Great recipe! I will be making these again for Christmas for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
A wonderful recipe! I can't believe how easy they are to make!! They taste exactley like the one you buy but of course better because they are homemade! I also used the spatula to transfer dough from bowl to pan and used the spatula to shape into 12"x 1/2" log. So cute when 4-5 are placed in decorative cellophane bag and tied up with ribbon. Thank you Linda!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made these as a gift for my father, because I remembered him eating anisette toast when I was a child. For some reason, my silly brain read the directions as saying to bake the cookies at 400 degrees F, so the loaves burned on the bottom after only about 19 minutes of baking and I had to throw them away. Fortunately, I had enough ingredients to make a second batch. I reduced the temperature to 375 degrees F for the second batch and started checking the loaves after 10 minutes. At 18 minutes, they were perfect. They sliced beautifully and the sides toasted nicely, again at 375 degrees F. My dad loved the gift and my kids and fiancee even reaped the benefits, because the recipe makes way more than my dad could eat by himself before they go stale. I'll definitely make these again, AND I'll make sure I use the correct oven temperature next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My Grandmother Mother myself and now my Kids and Grandkids have grown up with a very similar recipie. I somehow lost my recipient...can't believe it. I've search all over the wntinoeb to see if I could find one that was close. The only real difference is my recipient called for oil instead of butter and a couple tablespoons of milk. I am going to try there tonight to see how close they are. We called them Grammar Tarantino's Anise Toast. Out of this world good..Sometimes i would eat them instead of the meal. If anyone can comment on the butter instead of oil and what the milk would do id appreciate it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I'll admit, I rarely rave about anything in life, but this treat is one to take note of!! I baked the toast on two different types of cookie sheets. The air cookie sheet provided a light blonde toast color. The regular cookie sheet provided a light toast color. Each colored toast had its own amazing taste. These were so simple to make and will please any anise lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States