Anisette Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
What did I do wrong??? Followed directions as given, they formed and baked perfectly.... light and crispy BUT they have a terrible after taste..the only way I can describe it is it seems like the baking soda and powder had a reaction to each other... this overpowers the hint of anise flavor. Any suggestions???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My Sicilian husband just loves anything licorice. This is his favorite cookie and I purchase them from the Italian bakery often. I tried this recipie and made them one morning while he was still sleeping. He thought I bought them, but the evidence was in the kitchen sink! This is my second time making them. I made 2 smaller loaves instead of one big one, because the cookies came too big. When I form the logs, I dampen my hands slightly since the batter is very sticky. It worked out great! They get better and better with a little practice. Also, I round out the edges of the log for the traditional shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Linda, If your batter is sticky and hard to handle, try putting batter in refrigerator for a half to an hour..It should be easier to handle without going through all the work that you do..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! These just came out of the oven and they are absolutely perfect. I love anisette toast and now I will certainly have it whenever I want. Very simple, straight forward recipe. Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Tastes exactly like SD. The dough was sticky but when I finally got it into 2 loafs it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Being from NYC, I have fond memories of the Stella D'Oro rich anise sponge. This is so close, I cannot detect a difference. I now live in Central America and I included these in Christmas baskets this year for all my Central American friends. Everyone requested more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I'll admit, I rarely rave about anything in life, but this treat is one to take note of!! I baked the toast on two different types of cookie sheets. The air cookie sheet provided a light blonde toast color. The regular cookie sheet provided a light toast color. Each colored toast had its own amazing taste. These were so simple to make and will please any anise lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Peralli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My Grandmother Mother myself and now my Kids and Grandkids have grown up with a very similar recipie. I somehow lost my recipient...can't believe it. I've search all over the wntinoeb to see if I could find one that was close. The only real difference is my recipient called for oil instead of butter and a couple tablespoons of milk. I am going to try there tonight to see how close they are. We called them Grammar Tarantino's Anise Toast. Out of this world good..Sometimes i would eat them instead of the meal. If anyone can comment on the butter instead of oil and what the milk would do id appreciate it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made these as a gift for my father, because I remembered him eating anisette toast when I was a child. For some reason, my silly brain read the directions as saying to bake the cookies at 400 degrees F, so the loaves burned on the bottom after only about 19 minutes of baking and I had to throw them away. Fortunately, I had enough ingredients to make a second batch. I reduced the temperature to 375 degrees F for the second batch and started checking the loaves after 10 minutes. At 18 minutes, they were perfect. They sliced beautifully and the sides toasted nicely, again at 375 degrees F. My dad loved the gift and my kids and fiancee even reaped the benefits, because the recipe makes way more than my dad could eat by himself before they go stale. I'll definitely make these again, AND I'll make sure I use the correct oven temperature next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States