Anise Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This cookie recipe is FANTASTIC!! Very easy to make (my 9yr.old helped me). On my very first try they turned out perfect.(I omitted the walnuts,preferring only the anise). My Husband is impressed, my Parents were stunned and they were a hit at the dinner party I attended. I am Italian and I come from a family of Bakery owners and these cookies impressed them. Thank-you for submitting this recipe and I always make mention as to where and whom this recipe originated from. I highly recommend this recipe for its simplicity and its deliciousness!! Paula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I wanted to make the perfect Biscotti recipe for Christmas gifts this year. I printed out 15 different ones from this site and tried them all. This recipe was the winner "hands down" with my family and friends. Thank you Michelle for sharing your Grandmother's recipe with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Delicious recipe! Just make sure the logs are not too thick or they not cook in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeeDidIt
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
DELICIOUS! KEY NOTE: dough is very sticky so I allow for a bowl w/1 or 1.25 cups add'tl flour on the side for my hands when working the dough. They still turned out wonderfully. I gave it 5 stars even though I altered it because both my parents are from 100% Italian families & these cookies were much better than our family recipe. Ours are always so hard they should be dunked in coffee. These were cookie-ish yet firm & were a huge hit at my Italian family at Thanksgiving. I followed ingredients as indicated minus the anise (not a fan of anise) and once basic recipe was completed, I split into two batches. Batch 1 Almond Biscotti: I added 1.5 t pure almond extract & almonds. Batch 2 Maple Walnut Biscotti: 2 t immitation maple & chopped walnuts. Baking times differ just keep an eye on them. Once cooled I added white & dark chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
If you're a fan of biscotti, you'll enjoy these. Just the right sweetness and very fragrant. And, of course, great with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
These came out great. Light and airy and very crispy. Cooked them a little longer the second time, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I'm sorry to say that these were awful. A total waste of 8 good eggs, 8 cups flour etc. etc. I couldn't even taste the anise seeds and extract that I added. The egg wash was a nice touch, however. I won't be making these ever--I thought they were :-P bleagh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! I made some minor changes, 1c. whole wheat flour, omitted anise flavoring and seed, 1 tsp orange extract, 2 tsp orange zest and 1 1/2c. walnuts. I wanted to use dates but forgot to put them in before I started baking so I'll do that next time. I have not made biscotti before so, really didn't know what to expect. The dough is quite sticky so I used some whole wheat flour and made my log shapes on the counter, then transfered to the ungreased cookie sheet. I used the whole egg wash. The recipe did not call for salt and I used unsalted butter but I will use regular butter next time. When I did the second bake I found laying them flat on the cookie sheet produced a better browning/drying.These were so yummy, my hubby even shared with one of his buddies, chick food he calls it, funny, chick food is pretty good. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Wow, this is the best recipe for biscotti that I have ever used. It makes a lot and it is a good thing because they dissapeared so fast. I made it a few times each time adding something different and they all came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This recipe did not work well for me. First, I don't think I rolled out the rolls of dough enough, so the biscotti were moist in the middle. Although it is very tasty, I will reduce the sugar next time by 1/2 c. However, I the biscotti are VERY tasty. I used Sambuca instead of anise flavoring. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States