Anise Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I doubled the anise extract because I didn't have seeds and I added orange extract to the melted chocolate chips I drizzled over them. I will lay them on their side for the second bake next time though because the bottoms were really brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeeDidIt
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
DELICIOUS! KEY NOTE: dough is very sticky so I allow for a bowl w/1 or 1.25 cups add'tl flour on the side for my hands when working the dough. They still turned out wonderfully. I gave it 5 stars even though I altered it because both my parents are from 100% Italian families & these cookies were much better than our family recipe. Ours are always so hard they should be dunked in coffee. These were cookie-ish yet firm & were a huge hit at my Italian family at Thanksgiving. I followed ingredients as indicated minus the anise (not a fan of anise) and once basic recipe was completed, I split into two batches. Batch 1 Almond Biscotti: I added 1.5 t pure almond extract & almonds. Batch 2 Maple Walnut Biscotti: 2 t immitation maple & chopped walnuts. Baking times differ just keep an eye on them. Once cooled I added white & dark chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent, authentic flavor. If you don't care for anise, leave it out, as suggested, but we do, and I made the recipe exactly as written, including walnuts. They were delicious. The appearance is particularly pleasing, with a golden, shiny top due to the egg wash. The directions state that each unbaked loaf should be 3/4 of an inch high. If you, like I did, made them slightly taller, it will take longer during the first baking to get the loaf to the state in which it is not moist in the middle. Mine took about 25 minutes. Next time, I will be even more careful to replicate the exact dimensions called for by the recipe. I formed the unbaked loaves on a piece of baking parchment for easy handling. This is an excellent recipe and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RadSuz5
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RadSuz5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used 1/2 tsp. of anise oil in place of the extract and seeds. This was a wonderful recipe. It was the first time I made biscotti and it was very easy. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! I made some minor changes, 1c. whole wheat flour, omitted anise flavoring and seed, 1 tsp orange extract, 2 tsp orange zest and 1 1/2c. walnuts. I wanted to use dates but forgot to put them in before I started baking so I'll do that next time. I have not made biscotti before so, really didn't know what to expect. The dough is quite sticky so I used some whole wheat flour and made my log shapes on the counter, then transfered to the ungreased cookie sheet. I used the whole egg wash. The recipe did not call for salt and I used unsalted butter but I will use regular butter next time. When I did the second bake I found laying them flat on the cookie sheet produced a better browning/drying.These were so yummy, my hubby even shared with one of his buddies, chick food he calls it, funny, chick food is pretty good. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Delicious recipe! Just make sure the logs are not too thick or they not cook in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Wow, this is the best recipe for biscotti that I have ever used. It makes a lot and it is a good thing because they dissapeared so fast. I made it a few times each time adding something different and they all came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This recipe did not work well for me. First, I don't think I rolled out the rolls of dough enough, so the biscotti were moist in the middle. Although it is very tasty, I will reduce the sugar next time by 1/2 c. However, I the biscotti are VERY tasty. I used Sambuca instead of anise flavoring. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I love these cookies!! They are a part of my childhood memories forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States