Anise Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Great. However, my husband (and his brother and uncle) remember their grandmonther's (mother to uncle) cookies were very hard and dry and stood up like little mountains. Apparently the dough must be very stiff to keep it from drooping to flat cookies. How can we change the recipe to make this happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I make these often. I use the bulk/bagged anise seed in the Hispanic food section, rather than the overpriced little jars in the spice section. Also, rather than beat the eggs and sugar that long, I just mix the two, then let them sit until the sugar is dissolved (which is the whole point, anyway). Yummy, always! I like mine a bit on the chewy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Made these at christmas everyone loved them Thankyou connie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
These cookies are wonderful. They baked beautifully and tasted delicious. They were part of a gift for my aunt who LOVED THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made my cookies much larger than teaspoon drops and they turned out wonderfully. Let them bake longer (until edges are slightly brown - like the color of antique book pages).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
quick easy delicious...taste just like grandma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This cookie yielded great results even at altitude!!! I set the oven to 360 degrees and the cookies came out great. I baked this for my son's Ethnic foods unit in Social Studies. It was so easy to make, even HE could have made them. It's a GREAT quick dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is very similar to the Aniskuchen recipe in an old German cookbook I have. It has obviously been "Anglicized," and I'm glad to see it here. The original recipe calls for leaving the cookie trays set out for a couple of hours for partial drying, just as one leaves Springerle out to dry before baking. I'm glad of the tip about small eggs. Maybe that's why my results are inconsistent. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Anizeplaëtchen! Thank you, thank you for posting this! My Barbadian-American mom and I used to make these every Christmas; but somewhere along the line I managed to lose her recipe. Have searched high and low but never found just the right recipe -- and now, here's the closest approximation I've found to date! I remember her recipe called for beating the batter for 20 minutes, dropping the batter onto a baking sheet and then letting these self-frosting cookies sit overnight before baking (in order to form the topping). Whatever... Thanks again for posting this; can't wait to get home and try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I liked, but a little too crispy for me so I reduced the baking time to 10 min. I also didn't care for the large pieces of anise seed so I put it through a pepper grinder and used 1/2 Tbs. instead of 1 Tbs. The flavor was very mild, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States