Anise Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I make these often. I use the bulk/bagged anise seed in the Hispanic food section, rather than the overpriced little jars in the spice section. Also, rather than beat the eggs and sugar that long, I just mix the two, then let them sit until the sugar is dissolved (which is the whole point, anyway). Yummy, always! I like mine a bit on the chewy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
You left out: drop by teaspoonfulls on a greased & floured pan (or use Pam for Baking - works better). Then let dry for 8 hours (or overnight)before baking. Cookies will then develop the propper frosting-like crust on top. You can't make these cookies in rainy or humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made my cookies much larger than teaspoon drops and they turned out wonderfully. Let them bake longer (until edges are slightly brown - like the color of antique book pages).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Great. However, my husband (and his brother and uncle) remember their grandmonther's (mother to uncle) cookies were very hard and dry and stood up like little mountains. Apparently the dough must be very stiff to keep it from drooping to flat cookies. How can we change the recipe to make this happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I liked, but a little too crispy for me so I reduced the baking time to 10 min. I also didn't care for the large pieces of anise seed so I put it through a pepper grinder and used 1/2 Tbs. instead of 1 Tbs. The flavor was very mild, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly down to using small eggs. It produced a nice consistancy drop dough, due to having a very hot oven I shortened the cooking time to 10 minuets which produced a beautiful golden brown bottom. The upper side was nearly white, the flavor delicate, but lacked something to make them memorable and equivalant to the rest of my Holiday cookie tray. I'd say this is a good everyday cookie for those who like the flavor of anise but find the Italian cookies too pungent with the anise oil used (which I prefer). A good cookie to be served with strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Interesting texture. Initially sweet, then fades to anise. Might be good with a light sugar glaze, too. Will make again. Addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
taste is great, but got very hard very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These had an intriguing texture and taste. Unfortunately, after about 3 days their texture started to get a little strange. Very good if they are eaten fresh. I used a large egg with no ill effects, and substituted about 1/2tsp ground star anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is very similar to the Aniskuchen recipe in an old German cookbook I have. It has obviously been "Anglicized," and I'm glad to see it here. The original recipe calls for leaving the cookie trays set out for a couple of hours for partial drying, just as one leaves Springerle out to dry before baking. I'm glad of the tip about small eggs. Maybe that's why my results are inconsistent. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States