Anise Cookies (Springerle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My nana used to make these... Love them!! seems like the longer they sit the better they are...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
i love theses cookies, my aunt makes them every year she makes them with real anise seeds instead and they are 10x better than useing the oil but this recipe is still pretty good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madchef101
Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
The recipe is good; in Italy we also have aniseed cookies, but they are ring-shaped (they seem small donuts), and are made with the seeds (not whit the anise oil). The italian recipe have only flour, EVOO, sugar, white wine and 1 tbls. of anise seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These keep for a long time. When i was a child my mom would pack up a large coffee tin and ship it to my brother in Vietnam. I was the only cookie that would keep for such a long time. My German mom would make these in November so they would be ready to eat over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I truly loved this cookie. It was an easy and convenient recipe. I thought I would make the dough and let it sit in fridge overnight. Unfortunately, I came down with a bad cold and dough had to sit a couple of extra days. I thought it might have an ill effect on the cookies. I rolled out the dough in the morning, let it sit out all day, baked at night. Truly wonderful. The subtle flavors, the texture and the scent in the kitchen was fabulous! This is now a Christmas tradition. BTW, I did substitute the extract for the oil. And as the recipes states, do not let the cookies brown, it looses the nice texture. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imartie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These truly improve over time. They had a very unique texture that I found surprisingly addictive. I am not normally a fan of anise, but these cookies were really good. I don't have a springerle rolling pin, so I just used a cookie cutter to make circles. Instead of the oil, I substituted ground star anise. (Will try the oil next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Thank you Judy! This cookie is a Christmas tradition in our family. I love this recipe it's so easy and the cookies are yummy. Though I wasn't sure about letting the cookies sit in a tin for a week. So I tried them many ways: straight out of the oven (Good), after being stored two days (Very Good) and stored 4 or 5 days (Excellent). We love the wonderful yet subtle taste of lemon. There is no wonder why this recipe has lasted 100 years. **The only drawback was I couldn't find anise oil at the time I was baking so I substituted 1 1/2 tsps. of anise extract. It suited our tastes perfectly.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I have been looking to find this recipe for years. My mom used this for sending to relatives during World War II and the korean war. The only difference is she used anise seeds with it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States