Anise Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
WOW!!!!! WOW!!!!WOW!!! This recipe is Awsome.. The only thing that I did different was to Add 1 oz. of the Anise Extract. We like our cookies a little stronger flavor... My husband was eating them as fast as I could get them off the cookie sheet.. I frosted them with White Frosting from the can that I bought from the store and flavored it a little with the anise oil... They were so good.. This is a keeper... I will be making these all the time.. They turn out so pretty.. They are going to look nice on a cookie try.. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us.. It's wonderful. I can't wait to make a cup of tea and have cookie's..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I had been baking an anise cookie recipe for years when this year (2 batches) there was a terrible after taste. I found Louise's recipe quick, easy and delicious! This will be replacing my old recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Just like grandma used to make. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
We made these tonight & liked how quick & easy they were. We are going to try them with different flavorings such as almond, rum, etc. Also love the texture, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These came out good, though the 8-10 minute baking time was not long enough. (Maybe I made the cookies too big?) Also, the # of eggs seemed to make them heavier than other, similar cookies. I was looking for a whiter, lighter cookie. That said, my family liked them ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These are so good and moiste. I have received a lot of praise for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I wanted a soft anise cookie and this recipe filled the bill! My family loves them and I will add this recipe to my "must bake" list ever Christmas! I frost them with an anise frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
these are the closest thing to a Stella Doro both in taste and texture that you can find! This is just such an excellent cookie to add to a holiday cookie bake. I love the fact that they are just perfectly sweet. These are not a cake like cookie, but just like a stella doro due to the baking powder. They do not spread and therefore can get alot on one sheet. I didn't have anise extract so ground 4 tsp. of anise seed in my coffee grinder and it was just perfect! I think I would prefer the real anise seed anyway. Nice to get a little crunch of a seed for a burst of anise flavor. Thank you for this lovely cookie as a great addition to my holiday trays! UPDATE 12/23/10 I just have to say that these are so wonderful. I make them every year and just took a batch out of the oven. again, i use extra fennel/anise seed that I grind in my grinder as well as a bit of anise extract. I also use parchment paper. makes alot and u can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought the anise flavoring wasn't strong enough, and the cookie wasn't sweet enough for me. I would definitely add more anise favoring or seeds. I did one pan full by rolling in raw sugar and that turned out really good. Another review said she did an anise glaze and I will do that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This were not what I expected at all. They were too cake-like for me and the flavor was too baking soda tasting. If I made them again I would add more anise extract. But I found out by trying this recipe, that I prefer an anise cut out cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States