Anise Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought the anise flavoring wasn't strong enough, and the cookie wasn't sweet enough for me. I would definitely add more anise favoring or seeds. I did one pan full by rolling in raw sugar and that turned out really good. Another review said she did an anise glaze and I will do that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
We made these tonight & liked how quick & easy they were. We are going to try them with different flavorings such as almond, rum, etc. Also love the texture, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This were not what I expected at all. They were too cake-like for me and the flavor was too baking soda tasting. If I made them again I would add more anise extract. But I found out by trying this recipe, that I prefer an anise cut out cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These cookies were nice and light. I frosted them with a sweet glaze flavored with anise. Next time I will definitely add at least a tablespoon of anise extract, but a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
These cookies were light and fluffy but they had a terrible baking soda taste. I could not eat them. However, my boyfriend thought that they were "okay" so I gave them two stars. They might be better with less baking soda, however I will not try to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These came out good, though the 8-10 minute baking time was not long enough. (Maybe I made the cookies too big?) Also, the # of eggs seemed to make them heavier than other, similar cookies. I was looking for a whiter, lighter cookie. That said, my family liked them ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
these are the closest thing to a Stella Doro both in taste and texture that you can find! This is just such an excellent cookie to add to a holiday cookie bake. I love the fact that they are just perfectly sweet. These are not a cake like cookie, but just like a stella doro due to the baking powder. They do not spread and therefore can get alot on one sheet. I didn't have anise extract so ground 4 tsp. of anise seed in my coffee grinder and it was just perfect! I think I would prefer the real anise seed anyway. Nice to get a little crunch of a seed for a burst of anise flavor. Thank you for this lovely cookie as a great addition to my holiday trays! UPDATE 12/23/10 I just have to say that these are so wonderful. I make them every year and just took a batch out of the oven. again, i use extra fennel/anise seed that I grind in my grinder as well as a bit of anise extract. I also use parchment paper. makes alot and u can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These are so good and moiste. I have received a lot of praise for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
WOW!!!!! WOW!!!!WOW!!! This recipe is Awsome.. The only thing that I did different was to Add 1 oz. of the Anise Extract. We like our cookies a little stronger flavor... My husband was eating them as fast as I could get them off the cookie sheet.. I frosted them with White Frosting from the can that I bought from the store and flavored it a little with the anise oil... They were so good.. This is a keeper... I will be making these all the time.. They turn out so pretty.. They are going to look nice on a cookie try.. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us.. It's wonderful. I can't wait to make a cup of tea and have cookie's..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Just like grandma used to make. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States