Animal Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I doubled this recipe, but quadrupled the honey amount, and it was still not sweet enough. Next time I would increase the honey even more, but decrease the buttermilk/yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I've been trying to find a good animal cracker recipe for the past few months. This is the third one I've tried. It's the easiest dough to work with, but like other reviewers I have to say they are very bland. I doubled the honey, and added vanilla, cinnamon, and allspice and they still taste like flour. I did end up having to add about 1/8 cup flour because my dough was to sticky as well. I think I'll try again adding some more spices since I like for the dough came out, they just taste awful. Although my 2 year old doesn't seem to mind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My kids loved these. They aren't sweet, but taste nice and oaty. The dough's easy to work with and can be rolled and rerolled as much as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Love this recipe, I use it all the time. It is very adaptable. I've used different flours, oats, and added nuts and seeds for added nutrition. The dough is always perfect. My children and students love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I altered the Recipe 1/2 cup wheat germ 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour 1/4 tsp baking soda 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 cup butter 2 1/2 tbsp of honey 1/4 cup of coconut milk Kids love them! will be making these regularly for my daughter's lunch. Also Mine were more like various objects crackers ^_^ I don't have a camera or I would take a photo of these beauts. I got bit more than 2 dozen, about 2 1/2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linkynrose
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I think these were delicious! I actually used 3 teaspoons of honey because I like sugar! These were pretty easy to make and I have a lot more cutters now since I made these. They're terrific! I brought them to a soccer game and the kids ate them all really fast! I used little play-dough molds that were unused and little star cookie cutters and animal cookie cutters. Definitely making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimWarriorCatLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
good, but not what I was expecting- more like a traditional wheat cracker in taste, which is actually what I've been looking for. My kids LOVED them. Only four stars because they were nothing like real animal crackers, though very good for what they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made these according to the recipe, except that I was out of honey, so used maple syrup instead. I like the taste and texture - sort of like the outside of a biscuit - but would like them a little sweeter. Next time I will add a bit more sweetner; I think a bit of cinnamon would be a nice addition as well. I'm taking some to my Dad this weekend, pretty sure he will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Bland crackers (not a sweet cookie like store-bought animal crackers). My 16 month old loves them!!! I used part whole wheat flour and replaced half of the butter with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Used Canape cutters, 16 Month old Grandson loved them. So did a lot of the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States