Animal Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
my 2 year old loves these! i used tiny cookie cutters i found at a dollar store sand toy molds would work out great too :) (also you can add food dye for a extra kick)i made mine a bit thick so they were more cookies than crackers but made no differance to my toddler thank for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I really like these crackers! i loved the salty flavor and the crunchy outside with the chewier inside. I know i will make these again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made them following the exact directions and was pleased with the outcome. They do have a hint of honey flavor- not too terribly bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and tasted great (bland and not too sweet... which is what my family likes)! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1/2 of butter stated in the recipe and other 1/2 used sweet apple sauce. My son loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Wonderful. I used an extra teaspoon of honey and they were still not sweet at all; great treat for my 5-year-old, and easy to work with. I used cold butter, and for buttermilk I used skim milk with a bit of lime juice. My pan was ungreased and I had no problem with the cookies sticking. Fun easy treat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
-Changes I made: 3tsp Honey, 1/2cup all purpose flour, 1/4cup whole wheat flour. -dough was very, very easy to work with. -had a hearty oatmeal biscuit flavor, but worked very well with a little icing and sprinkles. -When I found the recipe I was looking for something with a better nutritional value to replace a sugar cookie because I promised the kids we would make cookies with sprinkles. - I look forward to playing with the recipe, maybe adding cinnamon, or ginger, vanilla, maybe even chocolate. Add just enough icing so sprinkles will stick and this is a great rainy day cookie making recipe without being over the top in sugar levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Made some modifications by using what I had on hand: Turbinado sugar subbed for the honey. Plain yogurt subbed for the buttermilk. Olive oil subbed for the butter. Also ran some Craisins through the chopper and added them. The family seems to like them as evidenced by their quick disappearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Simple and easy to made. It's a good and healthy snack for my little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Used coffee grinder to grind oats and it worked great. Also used whole wheat flour and bumped the honey up to 2 Tbsp. I am happy to find recipes with healthy and wholesome ingredients that are fun to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
We made these today and loved them. They taste like a soft, slightly sweeter wheat cracker. I can see why some reviews were negative if people thought they were making a cookie, but this is not really a cookie, it’s a cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States