Animal Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I'd give this 5 stars based on how mine turned out, but since I didn't follow the directions exactly, I'll tell you what I did do: I used Butter Buds instead of butter, so they'd be fat free. I used 3 Tbsp. honey instead of 2 tsp. And I added 1/2 tsp. each vanilla and almond extracts. Then I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour with the 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I ended up with a sticky dough, so added more of each flour. The cookies came out puffy and YUMMY! Just enough sweet to satisfy my daughter, and I thougt they were great! My daughter likes to roll and decorate cookies, but I don't want sweets too often, so these are a great compromise. You could decorate them with colored peanut butter or Nutella. For breakfast, my daughter dunked her name (we have letter cutters) in syrup and icing left over from some Dunkables. We thought these were really fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Wonderful. I used an extra teaspoon of honey and they were still not sweet at all; great treat for my 5-year-old, and easy to work with. I used cold butter, and for buttermilk I used skim milk with a bit of lime juice. My pan was ungreased and I had no problem with the cookies sticking. Fun easy treat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and tasted great (bland and not too sweet... which is what my family likes)! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1/2 of butter stated in the recipe and other 1/2 used sweet apple sauce. My son loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
my 2 year old loves these! i used tiny cookie cutters i found at a dollar store sand toy molds would work out great too :) (also you can add food dye for a extra kick)i made mine a bit thick so they were more cookies than crackers but made no differance to my toddler thank for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Made some modifications by using what I had on hand: Turbinado sugar subbed for the honey. Plain yogurt subbed for the buttermilk. Olive oil subbed for the butter. Also ran some Craisins through the chopper and added them. The family seems to like them as evidenced by their quick disappearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I thought they were edible. My children didn't like them. I followed the recipe perfectly. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Very easy to make and fun to do with the kids! My 6 year old did all the mixing and rolling while the 2 year old loved to help color and cut the dough. We used playdoh cutters to cut the dough. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla to help with the flavor, and added about 1/4 cup more flour. They still didn't have all that much taste but the girls had fun making them. I also made them thicker. So I had the oven at 350 and cooked for about 8-10 min. otherwise the bottoms were burned and the top wasn't cooked. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made them following the exact directions and was pleased with the outcome. They do have a hint of honey flavor- not too terribly bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I will never make them again. They tasted more like a biscuit and had very little flavor. I had to add some brown sugar and lots of cinnamon and they were more edible after that, but still not all that great. They didn't meet my expectations at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Used coffee grinder to grind oats and it worked great. Also used whole wheat flour and bumped the honey up to 2 Tbsp. I am happy to find recipes with healthy and wholesome ingredients that are fun to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States