Animal Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
-Changes I made: 3tsp Honey, 1/2cup all purpose flour, 1/4cup whole wheat flour. -dough was very, very easy to work with. -had a hearty oatmeal biscuit flavor, but worked very well with a little icing and sprinkles. -When I found the recipe I was looking for something with a better nutritional value to replace a sugar cookie because I promised the kids we would make cookies with sprinkles. - I look forward to playing with the recipe, maybe adding cinnamon, or ginger, vanilla, maybe even chocolate. Add just enough icing so sprinkles will stick and this is a great rainy day cookie making recipe without being over the top in sugar levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Wonderful. I used an extra teaspoon of honey and they were still not sweet at all; great treat for my 5-year-old, and easy to work with. I used cold butter, and for buttermilk I used skim milk with a bit of lime juice. My pan was ungreased and I had no problem with the cookies sticking. Fun easy treat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great recipe! Buttery and soft right out of the oven, I really don't know how they keep because my family ate them up. We sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over them to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEOXFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I will never make them again. They tasted more like a biscuit and had very little flavor. I had to add some brown sugar and lots of cinnamon and they were more edible after that, but still not all that great. They didn't meet my expectations at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I made these using whole wheat flour and I added a good deal of vanilla and about 1-2 tablespoons of Splenda, based on the other reviews. They turned out great. A bit chewier than I would have liked, but I think that is due to the whole wheat flour. Oh, I also added about 1/4t cinnamon. I'll deffinately make these again- they'd be great to make with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and tasted great (bland and not too sweet... which is what my family likes)! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1/2 of butter stated in the recipe and other 1/2 used sweet apple sauce. My son loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I thought they were edible. My children didn't like them. I followed the recipe perfectly. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
not very good. tasted odd,nothing like animal crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I'd give this 5 stars based on how mine turned out, but since I didn't follow the directions exactly, I'll tell you what I did do: I used Butter Buds instead of butter, so they'd be fat free. I used 3 Tbsp. honey instead of 2 tsp. And I added 1/2 tsp. each vanilla and almond extracts. Then I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour with the 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I ended up with a sticky dough, so added more of each flour. The cookies came out puffy and YUMMY! Just enough sweet to satisfy my daughter, and I thougt they were great! My daughter likes to roll and decorate cookies, but I don't want sweets too often, so these are a great compromise. You could decorate them with colored peanut butter or Nutella. For breakfast, my daughter dunked her name (we have letter cutters) in syrup and icing left over from some Dunkables. We thought these were really fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made them following the exact directions and was pleased with the outcome. They do have a hint of honey flavor- not too terribly bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States