Anginetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except for the butter... here's the secret to making them soft... use crisco instead of butter.. it makes so much of a difference! everyone gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Not what my Italian great grandmother used to make, but still pretty darned good. I used a cookie press so they sticky dough was easy to work with and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good. I think a great substitute for icing would be blackberry or blueberry jam brushed on top. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have made this cookie 3 times and the following changes really made it have more taste. 1/2 cup butter, instead of 6 tbl. I also used only 1 tsp of vanilla. plus a tablespoon of milk. Dough is very sticky so I just used a spoon to make the cookie. I only baked for 16 minutes, 20 is too long and cookies come out crispy. unless that is what you want. Icing. 1 tbl butter, 1 cup confection sugar, 2 tble milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Dip the COOLED cookie into the icing as one reader suggested. If you do it when the cookie is warm it just runs off. These are good and they are something different to add to a cookie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These cookies are delicious! What worked for me was to chill the dough and then roll it out and cut with a 3" cookie cutter. I made Christmas trees for the holidays. I found they only needed to bake for about 8 minutes. The recipe made 4 dozen. I cut the glaze recipe down to a third and it was just the right amount. I added lemon zest to the glaze. These cookies look and taste very impressive, just like a bakery cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I ALSO THINK THIS COOKIE WAS VERY DRY, MORE LIKE A BISCUIT AND NOT ENOUGH LEMON FLAVOR. WOULD DEFINITELY NOT MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I had high hopes for cookie. It tasted like a lemon biscuit-very doughy & the frosting was not lemony enough. Even doctoring the frosting with extra lemon extract and juice couldn't help. Would definitely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Love this recipe. I did add lemon zest to the icing to make it a bit more lemony. My one mistake was I made the cookies a bit on the small side. Next time I'll make them bigger just like you see in the Italian bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great Recipe! Very similar to what you would find in a bakery. My only suggestion would be to put the dough in a ziploc bag and snip off the tip (instead of using a pastry bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
The Anginetti recipe is a dream come true. My Traditional Italian grandmother made these cookies every year and they were bakery perfect. None that I baked came out like hers until I tried this recipe. It really tastes like the authentic quality of melting in your mouth heaven and a not too sweet experience. They are a "Wow!" To give the cookies a more melt in your mouth quality, I substituted Crisco for the butter. I used the same amount that the recipe calls for. The Crisco needs to be heated and melted then cooled in order to take these cookies up one more notch towards perfection. The next variation that I added is actual lemon zest, in both the cookie and the icing. It then creates a cookie that is truly at the peak of gourmet perfection. I share this recipe with others, and I bake these cookies for so many holiday gifts for family, friends and loved ones. It's the one the people start asking for weeks and weeks before the holidays get into swing. They say, "I hope you're gonna bring us those lemon cookies again this year!!! What more can I say. Just make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States