Anginettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Delicious! Great recipe and not too sweet - just what I was hoping for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Tasty little orange cookie... I added lime and orange peel to the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have made this cookie with my family my whole life. This is a traditional Italian Christmas cookie. It does not need altering as past posters have suggested. This is the way it is supposed to taste, and is perfect. I was going to post my own Anginette recipe on here, but this is pretty much it. They are light, citrus-y, and delicious. It isn't an orange or lemon cookie, that is why it isn't called an orange or lemon cookie. It is essentially a sugar cookie with a hint of other flavors, and I thank you so much for sharing it so I don't have to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I did not like this version as much as the traditional Anginettes with a lemon flavoring to them. I suggest a few changes that will absolutly blow you away!YOu can always cut recipe in half if you do not need that many. I suggest: Small Bottle Lemon Flavoring (use can use any flavor but lemon is traditional) 1tsp vanilla ¾ cup orange juice 1 ½ cups oil 6 eggs 7 cups Flour ½ tsp baking soda 5 tsp baking powder 2 cups sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Thank you for this awesome recipe. These taste very similar to the lemon drop cookies I buy from Italian-American bakeries in my community. I altered the icing recipe to have orange essence, lime juice, and vanilla extract which gave it a lovely little bite. I would make these as a lovely treat for someone anytime of the year. Awesome recipe, and I had fun making them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My Aunt who has since passed away would make these cookies, but she never gave out the recipe. These were very close to hers. I used 1/2 cup of orange juice which gave the dough more flavor. The first time I made them, I used 1/4 of orange juice and the cookies were too bland for us. Icing - First time I used lemon flavor as the recipe calls for. Second time I used butter creme or chocolate. They tasted like mini cupcakes that way. Which my kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Tryed these out for X-Mas but they didn't turn out so well. I think that instead of the froasting that's used for this, it should have been a butter-sugar-cream frosting instead. This recipe has much potential. I think a few things could have been altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Easy to make. Add nice color to a tin of gift-cookies. I made the dough balls fairly small to keep them bite size so I had to almost triple the frosting amount. Next time I will use the juice of a WHOLE orange instead of just half becuse they came out a little on the bland side until they were frosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States