Angie's To-Die-For Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Subbed half the white sugar with honey. Very moist, slightly dense, a little on the sweet side, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was terrific! It was THE best banana bread I have ever made! I didn't have shortening so I substituted butter and it turned out fine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very moist cake. Really enjoyed the banana flavor. There was plenty of batter left over after filling two large loaf pans, so I made a dozen muffins as well. My grandson wouldn't stop eating them! I've been making a banana bread recipe for over 30 years from a cookbook of my mother's that she got as a gift when she married my father. It served me well over the years, but this one was so full of flavor and so much easier to make that it will be my go-to recipe for banana bread from now on. Thank you very much for your contribution! FOLLOWUP: It's been 6 months since my first review, and I'm still getting requests for this banana bread from my family & friends. As fantastic as it is, I've also put my personal spin on it. I've substituted Greek yogurt for the sour cream because it's creamier & has less fat content. I prefer to sour milk I have on hand with vinegar rather than wasting my money to buy buttermilk at the market. I use 5 bananas instead of four & pour all of the batter into a 9 x 13 pan & bake for 60 minutes. (Even better when I make a double batch & bake with two 9x13 pans!) I use my eggs at room temperature to make a lighter, less dense cake. I like the glossy appearance of the cake once it's baked. So very tasty! Thank you again Angie, for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Looking for banana bread that used buttermilk, this is the one I chose. It is very good and moist, just how it should be. I made it into five small loaves rather than 2 larger loaves. The flavor is good and it freezes nicely. I added walnuts to 3 of the loaves and left the other 2 without. Our favorite way to eat banana bread is toasted as it really brings out the banana flavor. This bread did not disappoint as toasted banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Ok just made these, and they are more like a cake. my mom says she loves them. but i think i like a little more denced. i also cut down on the sugar, I used 1 1/2 cups of white sugar and it was still a little sweet for my taste and i also added 1.tsp of cinnamon. but overall i will make again but i think i will use banana extra as well or extra bananas. thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
NOTHING bad to say about this bread, just lovely! Never have shortening so I used all butter. We are trying HARD not to have a third piece before bed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Yes, agreeed, uh-huh, very good. 'Reduced white sugar by a half & used an additional banana. Added a little vanilla, too. Very moist. I also substituted a cup & a half soy yogurt for the buttermilk & sour cream. They didn't need the additional fat from either. I made twelve muffins & two 8x4 loaves. 'Not so sure that much batter would fit in two 9x5s as the recipe states. In the bread I put a layer of fresh blueberries. 'Not so pretty, but good, too. I also like banana bread 8 & 4. Later: Ya know, I think it may be too moist. 'Think I'll try reducing the shortening. It didn't last long enough to happen, but with quickbread getting that sticky top anyway plus being extramoist, 'seems you're inviting an early mold. (Sorry to bring that up with a good recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was delicious!! I cut the recipe in half as I only wanted one bread and I only had 2 bananas. I will definitely be making again. Thanks so much for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
We really loved this banana bread! I think it will be my new go-to recipe. The only changes I made was that I substituted oil for the shortening, and used a total of 6 bananas, 3 really really ripe ones (black peels) and 3 ripe ones (brown/yellow peel). I think the total was about 1 2/3 C banana. We like lots of banana flavor! If I use extra bananas again, I may try to cut back on the oil to 1/4 Cup. I may also try cutting back on the sugar to 2 cups total (instead of 2 1/2) since it is a pretty sweet bread. But, like other reviewers said, it's practically perfect, so it's almost a shame to mess with it. When making for gifts I will make as is; if it's just for us, my waistline might appreciate a few lighter modifications. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! The bread is so moist and so banana-y! We love it in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States