Angie's Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I prefer the taste of beef but for health reasons, I use lean ground turkey for all dishes that require ground beef. It's delicious, regardless. I used Classico brand four cheese pasta sauce, which I love when I can't make my own. However, I could not find cottage cheese with chives ANYWHERE! I looked, looked, looked... So, I had some ricotta in the refrigerator and just went ahead and used that. I also sprinkled some parmesan on top. I had some spinach occupying space in my refrigerator so I threw that in there too. Yes, I changed it up a bit but like the author said, this recipe "can be a start for so many variations". That's definitely true. Make it your own. It is a great base recipe and I loved the change of pace when it comes to texture on an italian dish. I pour some sauce in the middle of a serving plate and placed the polenta on top, made it look pretty and served it with a side dish of steamed broccoli. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
YUM! I sauteed the ground beef with fresh garlic, skipped the tomato sauce, and added fresh herbs and mushrooms to the pasta sauce. I couldn't find cottage cheese with chives so I added some fresh chives, basil, and parsley to the cottage cheese (yummy). I used the Polenta recipe from this site to make my own at home. So good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by virgi
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I layered everything in a small baking dish, with lotsa sauce, and no beef. The result looked more like a soup, but it tasted like lasagna, and it was great. Easy, perfect for lazy days. Sprinkled feta, cheddar, parmesan and breadcrumbs on top. Cooked almost 1 hour at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I'm not a polenta lover but my husband is and he raved about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This didn't go together at all for me, I ended up pulling off the huge layer of mozarella cheese and then eating it. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It was good. I actually layered it like a Lasagna and the polenta was a little soft. I would follow the recipe a little better next time. It was still amazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I used a can of diced tomatoes but should have drained a little of the juice. I also used ricotta cheese. I added mushrooms and spinach. The thing that made it was the use of fresh spices. Hubby really liked it and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I put my homemade sauce in the bottom (enough to cover the bottom of the dish), layer in the polenta, then a spoonful of ricotta on each piece then beef - skip the cottage cheese, cover with additional spoonfuls of sauce on the polenta slices and some mozz & parm cheese (whatever I have on hand) and bake until hot, bubbly and cheese is a little brown. I don't make it too saucy and can adjust it to just two of us or all 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made my own polenta (4 cups chicken broth to 1 cup polenta); spread it out on a buttered cookie sheet, covered it with plastic wrap and refrigerated until firm. I then cut the polenta into circles with a round cookie cutter. For the sauce, I substituted Johnsonville® mild Italian sausage for the ground beef, giving it a couple of quick pulses in my food processor after browning to give it a finer, more beef-like texture. Delicious! My whole family liked it. Thanks for the recipe Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States