Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tasted good, but kinda crumbly. Stephen and Emma liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are amazing! A few comments for some of the problems others have mentioned below: If you knead the dough it will get too chewy and will not rise as much. So seriously, mix just like you would a muffin batter, easy does it. Butter your hands to shape. And use that flour you were tempted to add for working into balls. Go easy on the salt. Salt enhances flavor but it also slows the yeast growth down. Too much salt will kill your yeast and result in heavy dense roles that just don't rise. No more than 4 - 5 tsp. About that flour. Use All Purpose for these, not bread flour. Too much gluten give a firm crumb. The goal here is pillowy softness. Humidity and storage time can all affect how much moisture your flour needs, not the other way around. Think of the dough like pie crust and wait until the final shaping to add additional flour. Just use a stout spoon to punch down. Again, no kneading! Big batch means more to freeze! After the final rise before shaping, scoop out as much as you want to bake right away and stash the remaining dough in the fridge. Shape and let the rolls rise. Now, Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Shape balls of dough and position on the paper without touching and put in the freezer. If you don't have room for multiple pans, stash the remaining dough in the fridge and set up a production line. Congrats you now have rolls, the making of monkey bread, breadsticks, you name it. Store in a plastic bag or tub. Thaw, covered and shape and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley Morris
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
These rolls were so great for thanksgiving. the recipes really easy just takes a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
A staple in our household! I do split the batches up into two smaller dishes as others have commented that the center ones come out undercooked. My 2 year old can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these for Thakgving dinner this year. I cut the recipe in half a I usually do just in case)..... I am now wishing I made the full recipe - these came or great! They take a long time rising but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe works out great. I wouldn't recommend someone who is new with baking bread starting with this for a dinner roll. It takes a certain kind of instinct to pull it off, but it is a great one for those who have experience. It is very versatile. I don't always do the third rise before shaping. It makes a ton of regular size rolls. Good for family gatherings. Very important to let brown on top and put butter on after pulling out of oven to make soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylewis

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have made these for Thanksgiving for the last couple of years. My entire family (40+people) love them! They have now become a tradition and I have become the official bread maker. I also make them a couple times a year when my husband wants them "just because". Thank you for this recipe and Happy Holidays to one and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am a novice baker and this recipe is my very first attempt at baking buns. It was fun and surprisingly easy to follow the instructions. I found the rolls are a bit sweeter than I like (for a dinner roll), but still scrumptious nonetheless!!! Next time I will see about trying out some handy suggestions. Overall, this is a great recipe! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I brushed these with beaten egg before baking, and they came out beautiful. Definitely need a bigger pan than 9x13. I used a jellyroll, or 1/2 sheet pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made soft beautiful dinner roll and I also made them into pretzels for an after school treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States