Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am first of all a long time yeast dough maker and familiar how things should be done. These are excellent! Because I have a dough hook, I put all wet ingredients including the butter (I warmed it with the milk)...then the dry ingredients from smallest amounts to the largest. Dough is slightly wet, and it would not hurt to add a little extra flour, perhaps a 1/2 cup. I also egg washed (beaten egg with 1 TBL water)and brushed them. The rolls shined coming out of the oven. Will make these again. Urge you to give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I am 10 years old and I love these rolls!!!!!!!!! If I had to chose ice cream or these rolls, I would diffenitly chose the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InTheDesert
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Followed the directions exactly and got nice fluffy, beautiful dinner rolls! Everybody loved them and they made great little sandwich rolls the following day. Watch the quantity though, this recipe makes 36 rolls which is a lot of rolls for a small family! I cut the recipe in half and still got 20. Also if you are having a hard time getting the dough to rise while in the bowl, heat up your oven and then turn it off and leave the bowl of dough to rest on top of your oven door while the door is open, it helped my dough to rise. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InTheDesert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These are FANTASTIC!!!! The dough is very sticky, and I did have to use about an extra cup of flour. I used my KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer, and note to those of you who own the same model: there is too much dough for this size mixer and it got jammed all up in the arm. I had to stop the machine, divide the dough into two piles, and knead each one separately and then tossed them together in a bowl. Excellent, excellent, and excellent! They are soft and pillowy and turn out HUGE! I rolled my dough into the smallest of balls and they turned out the size of bakery muffins. My one and only (minor) qualm: I will add more salt to the recipe next time. Perhaps a half teaspoon and see how that goes. Thank you though, these are the rolls I've been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
The rolls tasted good, but I would bake them in a bigger baking dish next time. I had to throw out 2 of the center ones because they just wouldn't bake and the rest of them were already really brown on the top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
very easy! I'm not a bread maker but these turned out much better than store bought. I think I might try a bit more flour next time as one reviewer stated. The dough was very wet. Not so easy to work with. I found out you can make these the day before and freeze. I put them into a greased 8x8 pyrex dish and froze them just before the final raise. The next day it took about three hours to thaw and raise before they were ready for the oven. I don't know how well a larger dish would work though as the rolls in the middle took longer to thaw and raise than the ones on the outside. But they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've made these twice. First time I was impatient and let the dough rise only once before shaping into rolls. Second time I replaced half flour with whole wheat flour. Both times they were delicious but the recipe dose need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I had these at my mom's house and had to have the recipes. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle and cut the recipe by half (except used 4 C flour) and they were really good. Not quite as good as mom's, but maybe that is because someone else made them! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Really good. Made the whole family happy. Recipe works well. I did need to use about 7.5 cups of flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to 18 servings. I also used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I just proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the egg, melted butter and dry ingredients. This needed just a touch more flour to get it to form a non-sticky ball, just over a quarter cup. I kneaded it for five minutes with my dough hook, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on a warm heating pad. This was quite slow to rise, it took almost two hours to double. After I formed the rolls, I plopped them in greased muffin tins, covered it with saran wrap and let them rise again. It took over an hour to double. I did NOT get 18 rolls out of a half recipe, I got eleven smallish rolls. The rolls were wonderful, fluffy and very tender--the flavor of them was fabulous. I just wish that they'd risen a little bigger. That's not a deal breaker, the rolls turned out just fine irregardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States