Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This coleslaw is fabulous! It's really easy and fast to make and it tastes great. I made this recipe yesterday. I was looking for a dressing that didn't use mayo. It's a definate keeper. Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Yummy! I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and it was still wonderful. I grated the head of cabbage but next time I'll probably purchase one of the pre-shredded bags of slaw mix. Even doing it with the food processor took a long time and made a big mess. Even my husband, who doesn't go for slaw big time like I do commented that he liked it very much and went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Made this with the leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls. Halfed the oil and the sugar. Everyone including kids loved it! Next time will try with healthier oils such as Olive mixed with flax oil. And add some red cabbage for extra colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This was a very good marinated coleslaw. I halved the recipe and used a 1 lb. bag of coleslaw mix. It wasn't enough cabbage mixture. I would suggest using 2-1 lb. bags for 1/2 of the recipe. The cabbage wilts a great deal when the hot dressing is poured over it. It remained cruncy and delicious but greatly reduced in volume. I added the additional onion but skipped the celery because I didn't have any. I'm going to add poppyseeds to this recipe the next time I made it. A keeper recipe! (addendum - the second time I made this recipe I added purple cabbage for color. Big mistake, it colored all the cabbage purple. I had a very big bowl of purple slaw.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Wow! This recipe really does last for awhile. I like this recipe not only for it's taste, but also because one can prepare it way in advance. I will surely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Very easy to make - I cut the recipe in half and used about 3/4 head cabbage, replaced the vegetable oil with extra virgin olive oil, and halved the amount of oil and sugar as suggested. A half recipe yields about 5-6 servings. We ate it the same day and it tasted superb! Thanks Dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I made this for the 4th of July. GREAT SALAD!! I made it three days ahead, and it was perfect. Keep in mind, though, that after it's been marinading for a couple of days, it is less bulky...if you are having a pary, you may want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I hate coleslaw but my hubby loves it, I saw this recipe and thought this would be easy to make and boy was it. Not only that it was tasted great. I was the kid in school that told a teacher I couldn't eat it because I was "alergic" and now I can't seem to get enough of this stuff. It lasts forever and has great flavor and is so simple to make! Thanks Dot this was a lifesaver, now we can have coleslaw that we both enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This recipe tasted pretty good, It was easy and it went well with bagged coleslaw mix. I also omitted red cabbage because I didn't want to chop it and the whole dish tasted great. Definitely let it sit though, I only let mine sit a few hours and it would've been better if I had made it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AtlRugger
Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States