Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I ate this all week and it was GREAT! Will definitely make this in the summer but great in the winter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Next time I make it I'm going to use 1/2 the sugar, and probably half the liquid too. It tastes amazing! I saved the liquid and will make more slaw this week. I added Bragg's amino acids and a little mayo. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My mother-in-law recommended this recipe, and I'm so glad she did. I used Splenda instead of table sugar and purple cabbage instead of green; I also used less sweetener and dressing overall, reducing both by 1/4 and then topped it with 2 tablespoons more of the vinegar, just to up the ratio of tang to sweet a little. We've had it with dinner every night this week! (Since my first review, I've made this several times. It's always good with one exception: I used olive oil in a pinch...and it solidified into nasty little chunks in the fridge. It softens back up when it comes to room temperature, but the texture suffers overall. I don't know if it was just my brand of oil or what, but to be safe, I won't do this with olive oil again.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
With my group of spicy taste lovers, I added ginger and lemon. Ohhh... delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Everyone loved this. Much sweeter then the miracle whip recipe I normally use. Really Good, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious coleslaw. I reduced the oil by half. Next time I will let the dressing cool before tossing it with the cabbage, though. It seems a little limp. But still delicious, best coleslaw I've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
We preferred this to the last recipe we tried on this site (Colorful Coleslaw with a Kick.... or something like that), probably thanks to the vinegar. We halved the sugar but next time I would only use 1/4 C. As some have mentioned there is more sauce than you really need but I don't mind letting it soak in the fridge. We didn't have carrots so replaced it with half shredded zucchini (which my husband really enjoyed though I didn't notice it) and half shredded broccoli stalk, which I didn't notice outright but probably helped combat some of that sugar! Would try again just sans some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My husband absolutely loathes coleslaw and under some family ribbing, was forced to try this one. He loved it! Now it is the only one I will make. I only did the dressing, and halved it as I also used one of those 16 ounce tri-mix bags. The dressing is the perfect blend of tart and sweet, veering more towards the tart. I have made it several times since then (and will be my only coleslaw recipe from now on), and sometime in the future when I'm feeling energetic, I will add the onion, carrots and celery. Thank you so much for converting my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Really good! And you can make it ahead of time to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very good. I just used cabbage and carrots because I didn't have onion and celery at the time. I also let the dressing cool before adding it to the salad and it did not turn everything purple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States