Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this as written except I scaled way back on the sugar due to personal preference. Loved the addition of mustard powder and this is by far tastier than the creamy types of slaw. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this for Hubby's office picnic several months ago and it was a hit!! No leftovers! I thought a cup of sugar was a little agressive so I cut back to 1/2 cup. It still tasted great. Nice to have a coleslaw variation where you don't have to worry about the mayo spoiling in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
love the sweet and tangy flavor of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Used a bag of slaw mix and halved everything else. Used 1 TB olive oil in place of the veg oil. It was good but not outstanding. Might try apple cider vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great recipe! Will definately use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
THANK YOU Dotmaytrx! Great dairy free slaw. Raw food have so many good enzymes and I detested raw cabbage & celery. This was just DELICIOUS! My biggest issue was eating raw spinach and I added some and boy! I do not taste the spinach. I bow to you specially since we just turned vegan! I had read somewhere that the raw taste of cabbage is hidden and also to help it let out excess water the chopped cabbage needs to be soaked in salt water for an hour or so. So I did try that and no raw taste! Hurray! Then I followed the recipe by reducing the oil and used olive oil, reducing sugar and used brown sugar and reducing the vinegar and swapping it with rice & apple cider vinegar. Thank you again. Can't wait to taste it after its been marinating for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for YEARS! Store I used to shop in had something very much like this recipe and then stopped selling it! Now I can make it myself! Very delicious and BETTER than what I got at store. Thanks so much for sharing your Dad's recipe! Love it Love it Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Light, refreshing summer salad. I would let the mixture sit for a day, as it was a little crispier than I'd have liked. excellent alternative to a heavy mayo-based slaw. Used a lot less sugar and subbed olive oil. Forgot all about the mustard but didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is excellent - I made it for a July 4th bbq and it was a big hit. I am not a mayo fan so I was happy to find a vinegar-based slaw. I used 1/2 the sugar and found it definitely sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I had to deviate from the recipe just a little because I didn't have enough white vinegar on hand but I added apple cider vinegar to the mixture and it worked out great. I had tons of veggies left over from my juice fast that I did the previous week, so I added broccoli and radishes to the mixture also. The dressing is more than enough and made Alot! Very good....definitely going to make this for my next church's pot luck! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States