Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this recipe is great! i usually use splenda or equal instead of sugar and its still comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe really took me by surprise! I thought the end product would be a mushy but was so tired of mayo based coleslaw, I was willing to take the risk. Totally crunchy and flavorful! I was worried about the flavor at first, but this really does need to marinate at least 24 hours. It's also a bonus it can be made ahead and lasts such a long time! It is a personal thing, but I will back off a bit on the dry mustard. Thank you! I will be make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this as written except I scaled way back on the sugar due to personal preference. Loved the addition of mustard powder and this is by far tastier than the creamy types of slaw. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this for Hubby's office picnic several months ago and it was a hit!! No leftovers! I thought a cup of sugar was a little agressive so I cut back to 1/2 cup. It still tasted great. Nice to have a coleslaw variation where you don't have to worry about the mayo spoiling in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
love the sweet and tangy flavor of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Used a bag of slaw mix and halved everything else. Used 1 TB olive oil in place of the veg oil. It was good but not outstanding. Might try apple cider vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great recipe! Will definately use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
THANK YOU Dotmaytrx! Great dairy free slaw. Raw food have so many good enzymes and I detested raw cabbage & celery. This was just DELICIOUS! My biggest issue was eating raw spinach and I added some and boy! I do not taste the spinach. I bow to you specially since we just turned vegan! I had read somewhere that the raw taste of cabbage is hidden and also to help it let out excess water the chopped cabbage needs to be soaked in salt water for an hour or so. So I did try that and no raw taste! Hurray! Then I followed the recipe by reducing the oil and used olive oil, reducing sugar and used brown sugar and reducing the vinegar and swapping it with rice & apple cider vinegar. Thank you again. Can't wait to taste it after its been marinating for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for YEARS! Store I used to shop in had something very much like this recipe and then stopped selling it! Now I can make it myself! Very delicious and BETTER than what I got at store. Thanks so much for sharing your Dad's recipe! Love it Love it Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Light, refreshing summer salad. I would let the mixture sit for a day, as it was a little crispier than I'd have liked. excellent alternative to a heavy mayo-based slaw. Used a lot less sugar and subbed olive oil. Forgot all about the mustard but didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States