Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very yummy - my husband said it was the best coleslaw he's had. I probably could have cut back on the dressing - I only used about 1/2-2/3 of what I made. Definitely tastes better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Tried it & it is not nearly as good as my tangy coleslaw. My recipe is about 1/2 c white vinegar & same amount of vegetable oil, 1 to 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp dry mustard, l tblsp of sugar, 1 heaping tblsp of garlic powder & 1/4 tsp black pepper. To the shredded cabbage I add 2 or 3 chopped green onions & a little celery and about 1/3 cup of shredded carrot. Add the dressing & let set on the counter at least 2 hours before serving. Have to adjust the exact amount of oil to vinegar ratio to allow for whether it is new or old cabbage etc. Does not work as well on pre shredded packaged cabbage Keeps well in fridge for about 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Far too sweet and oily for any of my family or me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this recipe is great! i usually use splenda or equal instead of sugar and its still comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe really took me by surprise! I thought the end product would be a mushy but was so tired of mayo based coleslaw, I was willing to take the risk. Totally crunchy and flavorful! I was worried about the flavor at first, but this really does need to marinate at least 24 hours. It's also a bonus it can be made ahead and lasts such a long time! It is a personal thing, but I will back off a bit on the dry mustard. Thank you! I will be make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this as written except I scaled way back on the sugar due to personal preference. Loved the addition of mustard powder and this is by far tastier than the creamy types of slaw. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this for Hubby's office picnic several months ago and it was a hit!! No leftovers! I thought a cup of sugar was a little agressive so I cut back to 1/2 cup. It still tasted great. Nice to have a coleslaw variation where you don't have to worry about the mayo spoiling in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
love the sweet and tangy flavor of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Used a bag of slaw mix and halved everything else. Used 1 TB olive oil in place of the veg oil. It was good but not outstanding. Might try apple cider vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States