Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made this recipe (X2) for my daughter's bridal shower and it is the best coleslaw I've ever tried and we loved it. I did however omit the celery. It only gets better the longer it marinates. Definitely recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is good stuff. I'm on day two and it is getting better! Yummy! I would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. I did change a couple of things. I only used one celery stock and it has plenty of celery taste for me. I sub'd 1/2 a cup of the sugar for raw honey which I added to the liquid mixture. I also sub'd 1/2 the vinegar for apple cider vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
made this for a 4th of July gathering and it was a hit! I used a 16oz package of coleslaw, 12oz of broccoli slaw, and combo of white and apple cider vinegar. I didn't have dry mustard so used Dijon instead(1 Tablespoon of prepared = 1 teaspoon of dry). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was surprisingly good! I made it as written (yesterday) and just gave it a try this morning. Nice combination on the dressing. I will be keeping this one around as a regular. I also want to read the reviews for some alterations to try. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It's just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I am only giving this four stars because I altered the recipe a bit... The flavor is amazing. It is so light and fresh and crisp. What I did differently: I used two 1-lb bags of cabbage mix especially for slaw. (I ended up only using 1.5 bags actually... I compenstated for the wilting of the cabbage) I halved the sugar content, and I would use even less next time perhaps 1/4C. I added juice from one lime I threw some crushed red pepper in with the boil. I also cut down on the red onion... only 1/2 a large red onion. I halved the vinegar amount and mixed white and apple cider. (1/4c of each) I left out the celery, added celery salt instead. Other than my changes, the base for this slaw is fantastic. I will use this again. I think you would need three to four lbs of shredded cabbage for the amounts listed in this recipe... and that is my opinion because I don't like my slaw as sweet as this recipe would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very yummy - my husband said it was the best coleslaw he's had. I probably could have cut back on the dressing - I only used about 1/2-2/3 of what I made. Definitely tastes better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Tried it & it is not nearly as good as my tangy coleslaw. My recipe is about 1/2 c white vinegar & same amount of vegetable oil, 1 to 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp dry mustard, l tblsp of sugar, 1 heaping tblsp of garlic powder & 1/4 tsp black pepper. To the shredded cabbage I add 2 or 3 chopped green onions & a little celery and about 1/3 cup of shredded carrot. Add the dressing & let set on the counter at least 2 hours before serving. Have to adjust the exact amount of oil to vinegar ratio to allow for whether it is new or old cabbage etc. Does not work as well on pre shredded packaged cabbage Keeps well in fridge for about 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Far too sweet and oily for any of my family or me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States