Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This coleslaw is fabulous! It's really easy and fast to make and it tastes great. I made this recipe yesterday. I was looking for a dressing that didn't use mayo. It's a definate keeper. Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Yummy! I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and it was still wonderful. I grated the head of cabbage but next time I'll probably purchase one of the pre-shredded bags of slaw mix. Even doing it with the food processor took a long time and made a big mess. Even my husband, who doesn't go for slaw big time like I do commented that he liked it very much and went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Made this with the leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls. Halfed the oil and the sugar. Everyone including kids loved it! Next time will try with healthier oils such as Olive mixed with flax oil. And add some red cabbage for extra colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This was a very good marinated coleslaw. I halved the recipe and used a 1 lb. bag of coleslaw mix. It wasn't enough cabbage mixture. I would suggest using 2-1 lb. bags for 1/2 of the recipe. The cabbage wilts a great deal when the hot dressing is poured over it. It remained cruncy and delicious but greatly reduced in volume. I added the additional onion but skipped the celery because I didn't have any. I'm going to add poppyseeds to this recipe the next time I made it. A keeper recipe! (addendum - the second time I made this recipe I added purple cabbage for color. Big mistake, it colored all the cabbage purple. I had a very big bowl of purple slaw.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Wow! This recipe really does last for awhile. I like this recipe not only for it's taste, but also because one can prepare it way in advance. I will surely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I made this for the 4th of July. GREAT SALAD!! I made it three days ahead, and it was perfect. Keep in mind, though, that after it's been marinading for a couple of days, it is less bulky...if you are having a pary, you may want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Very easy to make - I cut the recipe in half and used about 3/4 head cabbage, replaced the vegetable oil with extra virgin olive oil, and halved the amount of oil and sugar as suggested. A half recipe yields about 5-6 servings. We ate it the same day and it tasted superb! Thanks Dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I hate coleslaw but my hubby loves it, I saw this recipe and thought this would be easy to make and boy was it. Not only that it was tasted great. I was the kid in school that told a teacher I couldn't eat it because I was "alergic" and now I can't seem to get enough of this stuff. It lasts forever and has great flavor and is so simple to make! Thanks Dot this was a lifesaver, now we can have coleslaw that we both enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
After reading all the reviews, and being in a hurry (sigh), I did the short cut version of this recipe. I used 2 16 oz bags of ready made slaw, which contained cabbage and carrots only. I did not have a bowl big enough to mix this so I used a large cooking pot, but rest assured it will decrease in volume. I did not add any onion or celery, though I'm sure that would be good too. Then as previously suggested I halved the amounts for the sugar, vinegar, oil (I used canola), salt & dry mustard. I learned that half a tablespoon is equal to a teaspoon and a half. I just sprinkled the amount of pepper I wanted. Wow did this taste delicious! I also give this recipe more "Wows" for being quick & easy to make and for having to make it ahead of time. Thanks Dot for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Searles
Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States