Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was a huge hit at our granddaughters high school graduation party. I placed the salad in a stainless steel bowl nestled into an ice-bowl. It stayed cold for the entire party and everyone asked for the recipe. I especially thought it was great because there is no mayonnaise in the recipe making it safer to serve at outside parties. We served it alongside home made pulled-pork. Delicious combination for a wonderful sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was easy and good. After making once as directed, I made the following changes: 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white, 3 (16 oz) bags of prepackaged slaw (to create the right proportions of dressing to cabbage for our tastes), and a few dashes of celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made this recipe (X2) for my daughter's bridal shower and it is the best coleslaw I've ever tried and we loved it. I did however omit the celery. It only gets better the longer it marinates. Definitely recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is good stuff. I'm on day two and it is getting better! Yummy! I would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. I did change a couple of things. I only used one celery stock and it has plenty of celery taste for me. I sub'd 1/2 a cup of the sugar for raw honey which I added to the liquid mixture. I also sub'd 1/2 the vinegar for apple cider vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
made this for a 4th of July gathering and it was a hit! I used a 16oz package of coleslaw, 12oz of broccoli slaw, and combo of white and apple cider vinegar. I didn't have dry mustard so used Dijon instead(1 Tablespoon of prepared = 1 teaspoon of dry). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was surprisingly good! I made it as written (yesterday) and just gave it a try this morning. Nice combination on the dressing. I will be keeping this one around as a regular. I also want to read the reviews for some alterations to try. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It's just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I am only giving this four stars because I altered the recipe a bit... The flavor is amazing. It is so light and fresh and crisp. What I did differently: I used two 1-lb bags of cabbage mix especially for slaw. (I ended up only using 1.5 bags actually... I compenstated for the wilting of the cabbage) I halved the sugar content, and I would use even less next time perhaps 1/4C. I added juice from one lime I threw some crushed red pepper in with the boil. I also cut down on the red onion... only 1/2 a large red onion. I halved the vinegar amount and mixed white and apple cider. (1/4c of each) I left out the celery, added celery salt instead. Other than my changes, the base for this slaw is fantastic. I will use this again. I think you would need three to four lbs of shredded cabbage for the amounts listed in this recipe... and that is my opinion because I don't like my slaw as sweet as this recipe would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very yummy - my husband said it was the best coleslaw he's had. I probably could have cut back on the dressing - I only used about 1/2-2/3 of what I made. Definitely tastes better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States