Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a good starting point for beef stew. I started cooking at 9 am, so the meat was super tender by 3, when we ate it. I added 1 small can of v8, 1 tsp sage, 2 bay leaves, 3 dashes worcestershire sauce, 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, about 2 tsp more salt, and a little more pepper. As another reviewer suggested, I added about 2 tsp paprika to the flour for dredging. I added my potatoes about 1 hr before the stew was done. I also added a can of sweet peas. As my stew was cooking, it was pretty greasy looking, though it seemed to look better after I added the potatoes. Next time I will cut some of the fat off of the meat. The stew turned out pretty darn good, but I made many alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is good, but here's a few notes. When I browned the beef, I had to turn up the heat (to full high, not med/high) because it wasn't browning well. To the stew I added some italian seasoning, chili flakes, bay leaves and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Due to other reviews I waited 1 hour before putting the potatoes in, so they were only in for an hour-- not a good idea. The potatoes didn't come up "stew-like" and were a little too firm. It's probably best to put them a half hour in or maybe just at the beginning like the recipe instructs. Since I put in the tomatoes, the recipe made almost a full 8qt pot of stew. It was good, but will make few more tweaks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Fansastic! I have tried and failed several times to make an "old fashioned" beef stew. This one hit the nail on the head. The only ingredient we added was Merlot. Yum! Make on a cold winter day and add some garlic bread for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I followed the directions exactly and found that I did need to thicken it. I agree with those who think it needs spices. Ironically, my potatoes did not evercook, but my carrots did. This is one I think you will have to play around with to get just right, but it's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe! It's a keeper! I also made the stew in the crock pot, however I cooked the whole thing on low for eight hours, adding the potatoes for the last 6. TO the flour I added a little garlic powder, extra black pepper, and some paprika. And to the pot I added 2 bay leaves. This is definately not a bland recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This has become the only recipe I use for beef stew now! It's your classic stew and it's wonderful!! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLY99
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is the best beef stew I've ever had! Sometimes beef stew can be kind of bland. I did use most of OLIVERCADO's suggestions (search reviews and sort by most helpful). I used 2 tsp of salt and about 3/4 tsp of pepper. I also added 1 tsp of sage, 2 tsp of parika, and a pinch of dried rosemary to the ziploc bag and tossed the meat in the spices. When cooking the meat, I added 2 tbls of Worchestire sauce. I browned the meat and onions (whole), and put everything (except the potatoes) in my crock pot at 9:00 this morning. Put the meat on bottom of the celery and carrots on top. I threw in the potatoes the last 4 hours. I cooked the stew on low most of the time and high for about an hour or so towards the end. I used all of the beef broth required in the recipe, and it was perfect. I did not add the flour and water at the end. My husband and I truly loved this on a cold winter day. We had cheese biscuits with it (Cheddar Bay Biscuits, also on this site).:-) This is a new favorite! PS. I added a photo because I agree with others that the original picture almost made me not want to make this recipe. It looks like regular beef stew. I hope the updated picture helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
this was pretty good! did a number of changes though. i used 2 TBL olive oil, 1/4 c flour, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, salt and pepper, 1 tsp paprika. 2 lbs beef chuck, 1 sweet onion, 3 large potatoes, 3 carrots, 9 white mushrooms, 2 cans beef broth, 2 bay leaves, parsley, and a 1/2 tsp thyme, rosemary, and sage. i also added 1/4 cup of merlot and a 1/2 tsp of tomato paste. the meat was very tender, but i would probably add 1 more carrot and more mushrooms. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I agree that the picture displayed of this stew is not appealing at all. The stew needs something to spice it up. it is rather bland as is written. Added some tomato sauce and used either Tiger sauce or Hot pepper sauce to it to spice it up a bit. also, adding 3T flour to thicken is a bit much. Probably could get by with only adding 1 1/2 T of flour if it needs thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States