Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Simple to make, and the taste is good. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the celery.[per my taste, I am not crazy about celery]. I will make it again. Thanks for the easy, great recipe Margo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
this was your basic beef stew, very nice. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I love this recipe! It's really simple but so delicious! Every time another blizzard hits, I make another pot it. I even raved about it to the family and made some for them, when I visited home this past winter. They loved it! The smell from the kitchen is incredible, and I have the hardest time keeping my fingers out of the beef, while I'm preparing it. Thanks for this great recipe! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is a beef stew that my 16year old babysitter, who hates MEAT and ALL VEGGIES can eat TWO CUPS of! This is a beef stew that my 3 and 4 year old will eat and ask for seconds...veggies and all!! I highly recommend trying to use less beef broth (add a tablespoon of beef broth powder) and 2 10oz cans of crushed tomatoes!!! wow..flavor EXPLOSION! a MUST eat in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone had seconds. I served it with dinner rolls and egg noodles and it made A LOT of servings. I used the seasonings adobo, complete seasoning, and sage. This is definitely on my "Make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I cut this recipe in half but used two cans of beef broth instead of what should have been 1 1/2 cans. Still didn't feel like it made enough gravy, (I like gravy). Next time I will cut it in half and use three cans of beef broth. Also, used a packet of beef stew mix instead of flour for the thickening agent. Since it has seasoning in it I didn't add any salt but did add a bit of freshly ground black pepper. Added 3 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce, and 3 tablespoons of cheap red wine. Very tasty. Very tasty, indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windfall, Indiana, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I took the advice of others and added more spices to this. I also put the potatoes in it after about an hour before it was done. This was good. Will probably make again if I don't find another recipe I like better. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Good stew. Followed the recipe, it turned out kinda bland (salt maybe?). I used my dutch oven to make this, so I started it off on my stove top and finished it in a 300 degree oven for about an hour. Took it out of the oven and added the flour/water, replaced the lid and let it stand on my stove top until the rest of dinner was ready. It stayed plenty hot and thickened perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good recipe! My stew came out very tasty, and nice and thick(no need to add any extra flour). I was so happy that it came out so good because I am not the greatest cook. If my family really enjoys something that I've made, it must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as originally written, except I used regular onions cut into pieces, and I added a half-can of peeled chopped tomatoes. My husband absolutely loved this stew! I think this was one of his all time favorite meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States