Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this for a friend going through chemo. She eats very little. I called her later and she told me it was so good she ate 2-1/2 bowls! I simmered the browned beef in beef broth along with some V8 & a few bay leaves. Added the onions when they were softened. Let this simmer for a couple of hours or until meat was tender. Then added potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans, corn, tomatoes and peas and let them simmer for an hour or so. There's a lot of nutrition in this recipe and it tastes great! My friend's review was so great, I made another pot for my family. Yummy! We had a nice meal waiting for us after we were done with the yard work. I just stirred it every half hour or so. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good. I added a little kitchen bouquet to darken the gravy to be more appealing and served over biscuits. Kids and adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I found this to be a very simple meal. I cut the pepper down by 1/2. Leave out the the salt because of the sodium content of most beef broths. I also bake it coverd for 2+ hours on 300* or untill tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Not bad, but not the most fantastic Beef Stew I've made. Needed extra salt and seasoning, as well as tomato sauce and a few TBSP of Worshershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
UBER YUMMY. We don't eat beef often, but when we do, we like the traditional recipes and let me tell you, this one hit the spot! All I added was a bit of meat tenderizer to the flour mixture, then followed the recipe in every other detail. What a lovely winter meal! Thanks Angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Awsome! Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great starter recipe! Had to add more seasonings for better taste. I added more garlic then added rosemary, thyme, pepper, bay leaves, and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
It was ok...I made it while we were camping, and it was good...but not great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Amay-hay-hay-hay-zing!!!! The only thing I did differently was added some canned chopped tomatoes. My skinny-minny teenaged daughter who eats enough to barely keep a bird alive ate FOUR bowls of this! We all LOVED it! I am planning to make more this weekend! This recipe is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
While I browned the meat, I brought two cans of beef broth to a boil. I removed the meat after it had a nice crust and deglazed the pan with a cup of burgundy wine. Then the beef, broth and wine went into the crock pot with a few bay leaves. The only other change I made was to include some fresh green beans when I added the vegetables. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States