Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This stew was great, but I did make some additions. First I made 18 servings (3 pounds of stew meat) and and adjusted the rest of the amounts for that. I did flour and brown the meat which, in the end, was good enough for the thickening. I simmered the meat with a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes in juice and all ingredients up to the vegetables for 1 hour. After the hour I added the vegies, but cut down the potatoes to 8 medium sized. After continuing to simmer for another 30 to 45 minutes I added about 1 cup of frozen peas, thawed, and 1 cup of roasted corn (Trader Joes has it) thawed. The stew turned out tender, delicious and thick enough -- it actually tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This came out great. It was actually thick enough at the end of cooking. I really didn't need to thicken it at all! Thanks for a great - classic stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wonderful aroma while simmering! Upon others suggestion, I added a splash of worcesire (sp?) sauce, some rosemary, thyme, bay leaves, garlic, and a big tomato. I'm not usually a fan of anything with meat in it, but the meat in this came out so tender and flavorful, it was a hit! Will definitely make again. :)(Would give it the extra star, but without the added spices, I think it may have come out a bit bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This beef stew is very good. I will say I am not a big fan of stew meat and used sirlion beef tips instead. I did not have boiling onions so i used a whole onion cut up. I also add a few tsp of gravy master for some additional flavor and two bay leafs. I add the vegetables and potato at the last hour or so of cooking. Freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This came out extremely tasty. Definitely needed more salt...alot more. I ended up using 2 medium yellow onions instead of small boiling onions, as that's what I had on hand. I would say not to add the veggies until the last hour for still soft but not mushy potatoes. Added some thyme and a dash of worcestershire sauce for flavor like I read in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
First I have to tell you-I have never even dreamed of making beef stew. This was DELICIOUS! I can't believe how easy it is to make stew. I really love that it's cooked on the stove instead of a slow cooker cause I was craving it now! My changes: precut LEAN stew beef; I used steak seasoning instead of garlic, salt and pepper; used 1/2 c cooked barley added at the end instead of potatoes; and probably used more broth-I didn't measure, just added till covered; and I didn't have to add any flour at the end, the gravy was thick the whole time it cooked. YUMMY! One more thing, I tried to used crisco butter spray instead of oil, but no sizzle of the meat, so then I used the oil and voila! So I wonder if this is why it tasted buttery once it was done? That is fine with me though. And maybe I will add peas to it next time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this for a friend going through chemo. She eats very little. I called her later and she told me it was so good she ate 2-1/2 bowls! I simmered the browned beef in beef broth along with some V8 & a few bay leaves. Added the onions when they were softened. Let this simmer for a couple of hours or until meat was tender. Then added potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans, corn, tomatoes and peas and let them simmer for an hour or so. There's a lot of nutrition in this recipe and it tastes great! My friend's review was so great, I made another pot for my family. Yummy! We had a nice meal waiting for us after we were done with the yard work. I just stirred it every half hour or so. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good. I added a little kitchen bouquet to darken the gravy to be more appealing and served over biscuits. Kids and adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I found this to be a very simple meal. I cut the pepper down by 1/2. Leave out the the salt because of the sodium content of most beef broths. I also bake it coverd for 2+ hours on 300* or untill tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Not bad, but not the most fantastic Beef Stew I've made. Needed extra salt and seasoning, as well as tomato sauce and a few TBSP of Worshershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States