Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very good for a base recipe,tweaked it a little-bay leaf,rosemary,more salt,a bit of wine.Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very simple recipe and very similar to the stew that I grew up with. I like it a lot. If you like a lot of herbs and what not then you will have to add that. I gave it 4 stars for what was there. I did not give it five because I added a few things to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Followed recipe pretty exactly but didn't use celery. It was ok...I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is like grandmaws everone like it. even my picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent base recipe! This is just what I was looking for: A thick hearty soup with tender beef stew meat. I make beef stew a lot in the crock pot, but have never liked the meat because it was tough. I was searching for a recipe that gave me tender meat and this was it! Wow! I did add more seasonings, but the overall I followed the recipe to the letter. It is well written and easy to follow! I love it! If you are looking for a tender beef stew recipe that your whole family will love; give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe...I would use less potatoes and add more veggies like peas and added some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arielle123isfab
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Awesome stew- perfect for a rainy day! I added salt and fresh herbs to spice it up a bit more. Also added a few bay leaves and substituted some of the beef broth with an oatmeal stout. The beef got sooo tender it was delicious! I've made this a few times now it is a favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I agree with other reviews, this makes a good "base" but isn't exactly what I would consider enough to make a tasty stew. I took the advice of others and added a sprinkle of Worchestshire sauce. I made the mistake of adding too much of the water/flour thickener so it was a bit too thick but just added a bit of water to thin it. I really didn't care for the garlic powder. But, this is more if a personal choice, I rarely use it in any of my cooking. Next time I will use a bit of Garlic salt and then just season the rest with salt and pepper. I added the potatoes toward the end but it was still too much time and they were a bit mushy but not bad. Next time I will add toward the last 15-20 minutes of cooking. Overall, it was good but I gave it 3 stars for the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Boring & Bland. This recipe is truly missing flavor when made as written. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States