Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
great recipe! So easy and tasty. I put this in the crock pot after browning the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I increased servings 50%, and adjusted amounts accordingly except for the carrots, where I added parsnips (a most under-utilized vegetable). Instead of salt, I used cayenne pepper in the flour mixture. After removing beef and before cooking onions, I de-glazed with beer, not broth. Instead of adjusting broth amounts, I used beer. I've made at least a swimming-pool amount of stew in my life, and this base with my changes is up in the top 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Okay, this is going to be one of those crazy reviews that is probably going to show up on the buzz. I did not have any onions, celery, or beef broth. I lightly coated the beef in flour and browned it in hot oil. I don't know what happend while the beef was cooking, but the flour began to fluff up. I used all purpose flour. So I had to take the beef out of the pan. Being tight on money, I could not throw the beef away so I got out my collander and washed the fluff off. I placed it back in the pan and continued to brown. Then I realized that I had no beef broth and no cubes to make broth out of. So, I had just frozen some pot roast and gravy. So I got out the gravy and placed it in the pot. It was delish!! So, needless to say this recipe is disaster and idiot proof!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just awesome! I followed all the reviews and added 2 tsps more salt, plus 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp sage. I only used a small can of tomatoes and will use a large can next time. Didn't add the rosemary as my family is not fond of it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. This is just like the beef stew I grew up with. I cut my potatoes into bigger chunks, so they don't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I fixed this last night, and made some of my own changes. I ALWAYS add mustard to a beef that I am going to brown first just because it is a meat tenderizer. Then I roll it in the seasoned flour and turned it on high to brown. NEVER NEVER would I add potatoes until the last 20-30 min. because I want a potatoe to stand on it's own and not be mush. It's like making a cake, why would you just add water when water has no flavor? you add milk. The potatoes have no flavor because they have turned to mush. I also added a can of peas at the end. This is a recipe that has potential, but you just have to play with it and make it your own. Happy cooking everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is lacking in several key areas: lack of adequate seasoning, adding the vegetables wayyyy too early in the cooking time (stew should be simmered 1-2 hrs until meat is tender, then potatoes and onions added for last 35-40 minutes). You can read a lot of the reviews to make the needed improvements (see olivercado and happyapple) but know that this recipe is woefully inadequate as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Perfect Beef Stew, Stick to the Bones Beef Stew!!! Add 2 Bay Leafs while cooking, and Parsley before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
after reading the reviews, WOW! i decided to thank margo for a very good recipe! everyone has another idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy D Straw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This tasted delicious. I am known to be culinarily challenged and the recipe still turned out great!! I definitely recommend using OLIVERCADO's recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States