Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Folks, if you have to add half a dozen ingredients to a recipe, don't review the recipe and give it five stars. It's ridiculous that people are giving this recipe five stars. I made it exactly according to the instructions, and it was nothing but meat flavored potato mush. Then I made it again using the most popular modifications, and it was delicious. Maybe a bit too much rosemary. But as written, this barely deserves two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Perfect! Really perfect. The only thing I added was fresh garlic, and tomato paste. I have my new favorite beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apollari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was the best stew I have ever had. This is a keeper will be making it a lot especially with the cold weather coming and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Yummy beef stew...my kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious beef stew! Better than the crock pot version I make. I followed the first step as written. I heated olive oil and browned up the meat, I set the meat aside and chopped a whole onion and sautéed with 2 tbs of unsalted butter, to that I added about 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes. I added 5 chopped carrots and 3 chopped celery to the pot and sautéed for 1 min. Then I added 2 1/2 cups water and 2 tbs beef bouillon, I seasoned with a few sprinkles of thyme and 2 bay leafs and a few splashes of worchestire sauce, I added the beef and covered for 1 hour, then I added 2 chopped potatoes and finished cooking for 40 min. I let the beef stew rest for 30 min. It was so good it barely needed salt! I served it with brown rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 7 year old devoured a huge bowl of this and then asked for more. I have never in my life seen my daughter eat beef this quickly and then ask for more. That in and of itself earns 5 stars. I did make some tweaks to the recipe, based on some dietary restriction for our family. We can't have starchy foods, so omitted the potatoes and flour. I also used just a regular large purple onion and only 3 carrots and 3 celery stalks. I didn't have chuck on hand, but had some thick sirloin (which we tend to like the taste of sirloin in stews better than chuck anyhow). Used 2 cups of homemade chicken broth. I didn't mess with the stove, just threw the ingredients into the crock pot. I was leery of using so much garlic powder (especially since the powder I have is very potent, fresh from a garlic farm), but went with the seasonings as noted and hoped for the best. I think I could have decreased the garlic, salt and pepper just a tiny bit (all 3 of us were drinking lots of water the rest of the evening). I was also wondering if just those 3 seasoning ingredients would be enough flavor. But it was really, really delicious. We had NO leftovers! Two adults and a 7 year old at the entire pot of stew in one meal. And my husband and daughter wanted to know when I was going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good but missing some umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is terrible. I questioned simmering vegs along with the meat for 2 hours . This a given that mush will develop. Who ever heard of cooking potates and carrots for hours! Well, I did and should never have done so. Go with your gut feel. After 45 min,. I picked the meat out and am simmering it alone for another 2 hours and then will put the remaining t mush with it to try to salvage it. Read the negative reviews before attempting this awful, bland, mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just tried out this recipe. Delicious! I used beef bouillon...didn't have canned. Also, I used a little wine to deglaze the pot after cooking the onions. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States