Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This dish is so bland and the potatoes became very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
quick, easy & delicious! I used 1 small onion instead of 12 boiling onions, 1 bag of small bite size potatoes-no need to peel and a bag of baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It was nothing but meat flavored potato mush. Then I made it again using the most popular modifications, and it was delicious. Maybe a bit too much rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Perfect! Really perfect. The only thing I added was fresh garlic, and tomato paste. I have my new favorite beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apollari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was the best stew I have ever had. This is a keeper will be making it a lot especially with the cold weather coming and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Roessel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Yummy beef stew...my kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious beef stew! Better than the crock pot version I make. I followed the first step as written. I heated olive oil and browned up the meat, I set the meat aside and chopped a whole onion and sautéed with 2 tbs of unsalted butter, to that I added about 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes. I added 5 chopped carrots and 3 chopped celery to the pot and sautéed for 1 min. Then I added 2 1/2 cups water and 2 tbs beef bouillon, I seasoned with a few sprinkles of thyme and 2 bay leafs and a few splashes of worchestire sauce, I added the beef and covered for 1 hour, then I added 2 chopped potatoes and finished cooking for 40 min. I let the beef stew rest for 30 min. It was so good it barely needed salt! I served it with brown rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 7 year old devoured a huge bowl of this and then asked for more. I have never in my life seen my daughter eat beef this quickly and then ask for more. That in and of itself earns 5 stars. I did make some tweaks to the recipe, based on some dietary restriction for our family. We can't have starchy foods, so omitted the potatoes and flour. I also used just a regular large purple onion and only 3 carrots and 3 celery stalks. I didn't have chuck on hand, but had some thick sirloin (which we tend to like the taste of sirloin in stews better than chuck anyhow). Used 2 cups of homemade chicken broth. I didn't mess with the stove, just threw the ingredients into the crock pot. I was leery of using so much garlic powder (especially since the powder I have is very potent, fresh from a garlic farm), but went with the seasonings as noted and hoped for the best. I think I could have decreased the garlic, salt and pepper just a tiny bit (all 3 of us were drinking lots of water the rest of the evening). I was also wondering if just those 3 seasoning ingredients would be enough flavor. But it was really, really delicious. We had NO leftovers! Two adults and a 7 year old at the entire pot of stew in one meal. And my husband and daughter wanted to know when I was going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good but missing some umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States