Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
lots of work but worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I have made these several times....they are absolutely delicious and a big hit with the family..so with that said...about to make some today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were awesome! I added a little extra water during the simmering because I was afraid they would dry out but it wasn't necessary at all, would have been better off sticking with the recommended amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really was awesome!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Quinn Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I've made this so many times, and they are so so sooo good! I get requests all the time to make enchiladas hahaha. A few things, I use about 10(taco sized)tortillas, 5 isn't nearly enough and they would be way to big. I also use reduced fat cream of chicken soup, and the last time I made it I used greek gods nonfat plain yogurt in place of sour cream, and it worked beautifully. I also add a minced garlic clove or 2 to the sauteing onion, and skip the onion and garlic powder. This recipe is easy to adjust to whats on hand, I often forget green onion and olives, while they are missed its still delicious. I've made it without the cream of chicken and sour cream when having guests who couldn't eat those things and it was still very good. I usually use a 7oz can of chillies instead of the 4oz because I like them, and to serve I top with pickled jalapenos, sour cream(greek yogurt)and guacamole if I have any avocados. ALSO! I love making a batch of the chicken mixture, then separating it into freezer bags and then when I want a quick easy meal? Pull out a bag, trow it in some tortillas with cheese and enchilada sauce, enchiladas ready for the oven in under 5 minutes, can't beat that. The mix is also good on nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These were very tasty, but I messed up the whole kitchen making them. I did a few things differently but since I used bone in chick breasts it would have been nice to do that the day before. I also used the broth from the chicken instead of the water in the recipe. I also used my own enchilada sauce recipe because I wasn't sure of a good brand. We don't have the one some reviewers mentioned. After eating these, you won't be hungry for a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Yes. It was delicious. I tweeked the recipe a little bit by adding my enchilada sauce into the cream of mushroom and sour cream to give it a little more flavor. five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginaflute

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I'll give this a 2 star because I liked the filling. The rest was just tortilla goo. 5 tortillas? More like 2 pans of 9x13. Fortunately, there was a lot of filling left over for another try. I don't have any soup mixture left so I will roll the filling and bake without the enchilada sauce for 20 minutes and then add the enchilada sauce and cheese and bake for another 5 or so. I'll let you know how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe many times now. The most recent time I omitted the cream of chicken soup (didn't have any on hand), and layered the tortillas, chicken mix and cheese and topped with enchilada sauce to make more of a mexican lasagna. My family preferred this method as it was simply easier to prepare and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a truly awesome recipe, and the changes I made are mostly about personal taste. First, use more smaller tortillas and place them the other direction in the pan. Secondly, I added a 14.5 oz. can each of drained kernel corn and black beans to the chicken mixture to add a little counterpoint to the heavy creaminess of the soup/sour cream. Lastly, I made green enchilada sauce because I haven't found a good canned one. 1/2 C diced onion and 3 pressed garlic cloves sautéed in 2 T oil. Add 3T flour, 1 1/2 C chicken broth, 2 4 0z. cans diced green chiles, 1 seeded and minced jalapeno, 1/4 t each of cumin and oregano, salt and pepper to taste. Simmer 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States