Angel Pillows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
these cookies turned out to be very very soft and crumble upon touch. The icing was very very sweet (powder sugar and apricot jam)...still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUL1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this recipie low sugar by substituting Splenda and Splenda brown sugar and sugar free preserves. Its great with Raspberry, Strawberry, or Lemon Curd. I also used thiny cut slices of fruit leather to decorate the tops. The nurses at the hospital where I work just begged for the recipe, esp the ones on low carb diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This, I found as well, has the texture of a biscuit but is still rather moist inside. I don't know how it would taste without the frosting, but I doubt most would care for it if one was looking for something in the cookie line. Two children in my family wouldn't eat them, but the adults loved them. I used pineapple/apricot preserves and that worked fine, but I will double the amount next time. This recipe is also great because there are no eggs and not a lot of sugar, and I used low-fat cream cheese so it would be a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
These are awesome cookies, but I also added more preserves. I made a batch with no-sugar-added preserves, Splenda brown sugar blend in the cookies, and Splenda in the frosting...couldn't tell the difference. I also topped them with julienned dried apricots on top. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these cookies last year for the holidays and was asked to make them again for this holiday season. Very easy and oh so good. I also doubled the amount of preserves for the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I made it for church and got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
These are somewhere between a cookie and a biscuit. Without the frosting, I don't know if I would have liked them as much. They are good with milk or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Delicious! I followed the advice of others and used double the amount of jam (peach.) These really are soft. The cream cheese adds a tangy flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Another good one from Beth! Being the apricot lover that I am, I had to try these. I'm so glad I did. They are so moist and yummy. I, too, increased the apricot and baked for 12 mins. Of course I frosted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
These lasted for only a few minutes! The moment they came out of the oven, everyone around wanted to try them because of the great aroma! They keep really well (DEFINITELY soft and moist), and are good even without the frosting, if you don't want to top them off. As for the pecans, it worked well to have a few bite sized chunks just for variety. Highly recommended - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States