Angel Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My first attempt at making icing of any kind, had to look up double boiler so as a novice I would say 2 things I was unsure of were the corn syrup ingredient...was that meant to be light or dark? Next I did the glass bowl over saucepan alternative to a double boiler but didn't realize the icing was going to expand so greatly so I should have used a much bigger size...LOL Flavor was very sweet even without the vanilla. Not sure if I like it better with or without. Will try again and with more knowledge now and maybe even go with a raspberry flavor...hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Stiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Such a beautiful icing. Had a silky, kind of pearl finish...it looked SO good on cupcakes and it was really easy to make. The flavour is pretty good...I will probably try an extract other than vanilla next time but I will definitely use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This has been in my grand mothers old cook book. She only made it for the Christmas season.The book and recipie is so worn. It's barely readable.I'm so glad I found it here.My kids and grand children love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy to prepare. I'm going to try adding chocolate or cocoa to the next try. It spreads well onto the cake or even piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barry's Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! Mom used to make this when I was a kid! She called it 7 minit icing and it was super sticky!! I substituted 2tbls of Rum extract for the Vanilla and it is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Trachsel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was nice and glossy , but it didn't hold up on the cake as nice as 'Marshmallow Icing' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It was very sweet and not many people liked it. I made it twice to make sure I did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I love this icing...I've had failures before with similar style icings, but this was so easy, it was essentially a no-brainer! This will be a permanent addition to my repetoire! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good fluffy white frosting. This better known as"7-Minute" frosting as you usually beat if for 7 minutes. This does not keep so you should eat it within a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My aunt Leona Lamusga made this when I was a little girl. My mom never made it, so it was a special treat from Aunt Lee. Thank you for bringing back a wonderful memory of an Aunt I loved very much. And, I have never made this successfully until following your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States