Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this recipe was GREAT, the 4 star rating was for the few modifications I made. In response to the other reviews I did double the sauce. To cut some fat I used milk but in place of the cream I used fat free evaporated milk (same measurements) I used smart balance in the sauce and butter for the shrimp. In place of just parm. I used a pre-shredded blend in the deli section of parm. romano, and asiago. I love garlic so I added a little extra and went easy on the pepper and hot sauce because I was also serving this to my picky kids. This had a nice kick but wasn't too hot. I used fresh broccoli and pesto (I loved the flavor and I don't think just fresh basil would have had the same affect)Lastly I made the sauce a few hrs. in advance and I think that may have been a good thing as I discovered the flavors had a chance to blend and tasted better after some time. ( another reviewer had mentioned it was good reheated)All in all I was a great hit and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
So good, I'm craving more! I followed everything pretty much except I didn't use the pesto, I didn't have any on hand and don't think I missed it. I also at least doubled the garlic amounts as we love our garlic too. I always double the sauce recipes on anything I make since we are all sauce eaters and don't like dry food, and I'm glad I did, it was just enough. Boy, is this ever good and you can change out the shrimp or broccoli for other things very easily as well. This is easy and great enough for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by juneco1
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I used mini penne pasta instead of the angel hair and omitted the pesto and used fresh basil. I also put the broccoli into my pasta water for about 3-4 minutes for time saving. I bought peeled cooked shrimp and sauteed for aprox. 3-5 mins. in the garlic and butter. If you like a lot of sauce, you need to add more of the milk and heavy cream. My kids ate every bite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fulshear, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
When I read the reviews for this recipe I noticed that the people who had problems with it were the ones who fiddled with it, especially with the liquids. There is a reason for the heavy cream, it's a natural thickener. I made this recipe following the directions and using the same ingredients with the excepton of broccoli, I have a husband who will not come to a table with broccoli on it, he calls it B-Coli. The recipe was wonderful and it is a keeper. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This recipe is absolutely awesome!! The sauce is wonderful, creamy and tasty. I used bow-tie pasta, fresh broccoli and frozen shrimp. If you use frozen shrimp, just heat it with the broccoli for a couple of minutes until it's hot. Only one word of caution. You may want to melt the butter and add the flour over low heat, not medium. I burned the first batch of butter and flour because I used medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Fantastic recipe! The cream sauce is to die for... loved the addition of the pesto. I made this for my son's 18th birthday. Everyone loved it... definitely a recipe that will impress your guests. I did a couple things differently... I doubled the sauce as suggested by another reviewer and used 2% milk (along with the cream) instead of whole milk. Oh, and I used only 1 t. of salt, just in the sauce... the shrimp didn't need any. Thanks so much Robbie for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
this was a little time consuming but after tasting the sauce I couldn't believe how good it was and well worth it. I recommend doubling the recipe for the sauce though. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was ok. Use fresh broccoli instead of frozen and cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was a hit!! I followed the suggestion to double the sauce and make it ahead of time and that was an awesome suggestion. I used whole milk and half and half since I didn't have cream. Worked well. I also steamed fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Other than that just followed the recipe as written and it was great. A perfect company dish. We will be having this again. I served it in my Southern Living large red pasta bowl and according to my husband it looked like something the Barefoot Contessa would serve!!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I loved this recipe, but could only give 4 stars because of my changes. I don't like broccoli...so I omitted it. I reduced the amount of pepper and added a bit of white wine to the sauce. Be careful because it does thicken quickly. Also I omitted the Worcestershire sauce, just didn't have any on hand. Will make again with my changes, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States