Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I added a small box of fruit punch jello mix in with the cake mix, filled the cups 3/4 full, and baked at 350 for 18 minutes. They turned out perfect and are cooling right now. I have two kids looking very forward to dessert tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I tried something a little different with this recipe. Instead of water, I added pink moscato. The cupcakes didn't rise as well as I would have liked, but it was my first time making angel food ever. I filled the cupcakes with a strawberry sauce and topped with a vanilla mouse icing. They turned out wonderful! This is a great basic recipe that you can improvise on and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I actually used an ice cream scoop and put one scoop of mix then a couple of teaspoons of crushed pineapple ( or strawberries, or cherry pie filling) then another scoop of cake mix. Then topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I too filled them 3/4 full and baked at 350 for 16 min. I also refrigerated the batter between batches. I topped them with store bought frosting mixed with whipped topping. I got 30 cupcakes. They were a huge hit with the kids and I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Perfect. I did like everyone else and cooked 17 minutes at 350. I ended up with 30 cupcakes, not 12, but it was all the better. I also used sprinkles in the mix and topped with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Angel Food cake is my #1 favorite! When I was a kid every year for my birthday, my mom would make an angel food cake, slice it into four layers, and frost with chocolate heavy whipped cream, by folding in Hershey's Chocolate Syrup into the whipped cream, then add sliced almonds to the sides and top of the cake. YUM! I will be making them as cupcakes for my Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is helpful if you are wondering if you can make a box of angel food cake as cupcakes. Yes, you can. But I have to give this 3 stars because the recipe makes way more than is stated and I found at 375 the cupcakes browned too fast. I tried lowering the temp and they cooked beautifully at 350 for 16min. I would recommend serving these the day you make them to make the most of the texture that is characteristic of angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa (I used Ghiradelli) to mix to make great chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Angel food cupcakes are a nice surprise for everyone expecting "regular" cupcakes. My biggest difficulty and inconsistency with this recipe is that the cake always sticks to the paper, so that most of the bottom peels off half of the time. Maybe people's suggestion to lower the temperature will help with that. ?? I've also tried with foil liners (worse), no liners (flattened bottoms and also still stick), or no liners with a tiny swipe of cooking spray. The cooking spray version has worked best for me, but I'd prefer to use the liners if there's a trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Added a few chocolate chips, and baked for 15 minutes exactly. Turned out PERFECT however my husband said they sucked, didn't like how squishy they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States