Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I tried something a little different with this recipe. Instead of water, I added pink moscato. The cupcakes didn't rise as well as I would have liked, but it was my first time making angel food ever. I filled the cupcakes with a strawberry sauce and topped with a vanilla mouse icing. They turned out wonderful! This is a great basic recipe that you can improvise on and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I actually used an ice cream scoop and put one scoop of mix then a couple of teaspoons of crushed pineapple ( or strawberries, or cherry pie filling) then another scoop of cake mix. Then topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I too filled them 3/4 full and baked at 350 for 16 min. I also refrigerated the batter between batches. I topped them with store bought frosting mixed with whipped topping. I got 30 cupcakes. They were a huge hit with the kids and I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Perfect. I did like everyone else and cooked 17 minutes at 350. I ended up with 30 cupcakes, not 12, but it was all the better. I also used sprinkles in the mix and topped with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Angel Food cake is my #1 favorite! When I was a kid every year for my birthday, my mom would make an angel food cake, slice it into four layers, and frost with chocolate heavy whipped cream, by folding in Hershey's Chocolate Syrup into the whipped cream, then add sliced almonds to the sides and top of the cake. YUM! I will be making them as cupcakes for my Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is helpful if you are wondering if you can make a box of angel food cake as cupcakes. Yes, you can. But I have to give this 3 stars because the recipe makes way more than is stated and I found at 375 the cupcakes browned too fast. I tried lowering the temp and they cooked beautifully at 350 for 16min. I would recommend serving these the day you make them to make the most of the texture that is characteristic of angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa (I used Ghiradelli) to mix to make great chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Angel food cupcakes are a nice surprise for everyone expecting "regular" cupcakes. My biggest difficulty and inconsistency with this recipe is that the cake always sticks to the paper, so that most of the bottom peels off half of the time. Maybe people's suggestion to lower the temperature will help with that. ?? I've also tried with foil liners (worse), no liners (flattened bottoms and also still stick), or no liners with a tiny swipe of cooking spray. The cooking spray version has worked best for me, but I'd prefer to use the liners if there's a trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Added a few chocolate chips, and baked for 15 minutes exactly. Turned out PERFECT however my husband said they sucked, didn't like how squishy they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I had a box of Betty Crocker Angel Food Cake mix so I figured I could use it for this recipe. It was quick, easy and best of all, it's fat-free. I made these into little cupcakes, ending up with 36 total. All I needed was a 1 1/4 cup of water. No other ingredients were needed. I baked them at 350 degrees for 14 minutes. Fluffy and light. You could also top these with some frosting and fresh blueberries or strawberries. Thank you for sharing this recipe Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States