Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
These are very good but I had to make a few changes. First of all, I could only find a 16 oz box of angel food cake mix made by Betty Crocker and while the box amount is less than the recipe requires, the mix made 29 cupcakes....not 12! One of the reviewers had suggested to fill the cupcake holders all the way full so make a bigger cupcake. I don't recommend this. I did it with my first batch and it was too much cake mix. The tops of the cupcakes ballooned out and ran into each other. I had to use a knife to seperate them from each other and then had to chisel the cupcakes off the muffin pan to get them out. The rest I filled at 3/4 full and they turned out perfect. Bigger than the 2/3 suggested in the recipe but smaller than filling them all the way and I had no problem getting them out of the muffin pan. I do agree with the same reviewer on having the oven set at 350 degrees instead of 375 and I found I didn't have to add an extra 5 minutes. I do know that oven temps can vary from oven to oven. On my oven, 15 minutes was perfect. So in summary, this is what I did..... Used a 16 oz box cake mix which made way more cupcakes than the recipe says it will. (Plus if I had filled all of the cupcake paper wrappers 3/4 of the way full I would have gotten even more!) Fill them 3/4 of the way full and bake at 350° for 15 minutes. Makes 2 to 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I didn't have any problems with the temp but the Prepackaged 16oz Angel Food cake mix made ALOT more than 12 cupcakes. Helpful Hints: Use a REALLY big bowl because the mix expands like crazy. Give the mix some time to settle before putting it into the baking cups (otherwise you will get some with too much air and they come out looking like a deflated souffle They also tend to be rather delecate comming out of the pan. Serving Suggestion: I put whipped cream and sliced strawberrys ontop. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
No other ingredients are listed because you don't need anything else but water. I also agree that the temp needs to be 350, not 375. This is a low fat, easy to prepare treat, and I never thought of it myself. Don't knock it til ya try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I give this recipe 3 stars only because it didn't give me a lot to work with. I used betty crocker angel food mix, and the box had a cupcake recipe on the side. For starters, this recipe was very vague. The box says to beat together the mix with 1 1/4 cups COLD water. I filled the cups 3/4 full and they came out fine. My first batch was a lot smaller because i didnt want the cupcakes to overflow. The box also says to keep the batter refridgerated between baking. I baked for about 14 minutes until the tops were golden. It made about 30 good sized cup cakes for me. I frosted with coolwhip. A lot of variations can be made with this recipe - Use could add mandarin orange segments and substitute half the water for the liguid in the can. You could add many extracts and food coloring to create a tie-dye effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Perfect for a sweet, but low-fat dessert. I added 2 tsp of almond extract to the batter and topped with just a little vanilla icing when cooled. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTONSHIU97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is truely the greatest recipe of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This was so easy to make and fast. They are great with strawberries or chocolate frosting. My kids just loved them. They are also good just plain. If your dieting this is the way to go NO FAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
the testimonial in and of itself is helpful! this was the only thing I could find in any cookbook or online confirming that angel food cupcakes would not be a huge mistake on my part. Health policies at school prohibit the "real" thing for birthday snacks and these with lite whipped topping were the best we could do. thanks for posting for those of us too scared to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Great inspiration when I needed it. Speedy to whip up, doesn't need a mess of ingredients, gets the job done respectably, and tastes good. Can't ask for more. Moreover, if you were to buy these, how much do you think you'd pay for them? Thanks for sharing the "recipe" when I wouldn't otherwise have been aware of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States