Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Well, I will have to try this recipe again when I get cupcake liners. I did as the comments advised and filled muffing tins 3/4 full (the first batch was more like full and didn't work too well). I also lowered the heat to 350 and baked for 15-20 min. (18 ended up being the magic number for my oven. They were not very "cupcake-y" without the liners, more like a disappointing short-cake, but I'm going to cut them up and make a trifle with them and I'm sure it will be fine. If you don't have cupcake liners and you don't have an angel food cake pan and just need to get it cooked to get into another recipe, it works just fine, but don't expect cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipie is exactly as the box instructs.On the side panel of betty crocker this is actaly what it says.Word to the wise though when you refridgerate the batter re stir before refilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We loved the cupcakes, at first(too many) but they did not keep. The next day they were like chewing rubber and I had to throw away most of them. Love the idea but wonder how people stored the ones that were leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
They were ok. They were a little too brown on the top and stuck to the bottom of the muffin cups. My grandson didn't even eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love angel food cake and thought the cupcakes would be a great idea, but I was mistaken. Thumbs up to anyone who got these to turn out well, but after two batches I bumped the rest of the batter. Not good, if you really need cupcakes go with a regular cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Instead of water, use a 15 oz can of crushed pineapple. This is very good topped with Vanilla frosting or Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this for my 4 year old daughter's Pre-K class as a way to celebrate her birthday this year. I could only find the 16oz box from Betty Crocker, filled the cupcake liners 3/4 full as others suggested, baked @ 350 until golden brown, and had exactly 30 cupcakes. It's extremely easy to make, light & fluffy, and oh so delicious! I topped it with the "Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting" recipe from this website and added sprinkles and sugar glazed strawberries. The kids and two teachers raved about it. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the idea, if not the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have made many an angelfood cake, but like others, searched the internet for directions or pointers for a CUPCAKE recipe as no boxed mix offers one! This was very helpful!!! I too lowered the temp and filled the papers 3/4. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Yum. Top with "Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting" and you're halfway to heaven. I say "bravo" to the submitting cook since I was hesitant to make angel food cupcakes(was concerned that it wasn't listed as an option on the box because they would stick like crazy to the paper) No sticky. No problem. Was a big, big hit with my bookclub. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States