Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
When I was a child (many, many years ago), my mother used to buy (and hide) this candy at the Dutch Mill Candy store. When they closed their stores, she found it at a little neighborhood candy store. I made this for old time's sake. I made this recipe using about half light brown sugar and half granulated sugar. The end result doesn't appear to be as thick as the pictures for this recipe but the taste is right on target. I poured the cooked syrup into a pan lined with buttered non-stick foil (some people call me Mr. Monk).Thank you so much for posting this recipe it brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe and it came out looking like its supposed to but it had a bitter vinegar taste. I wonder if I can omit the vinegar so it tastes like what its supposed to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for her Christmas boxes I never realized how simple it really is. Followed directions to a t had everything prepared buttered pan lined with parchment, sifted baking soda. Also dipped in semi-sweet chocolate with a bit of shortening and it was exactly like I remembered. Also used Lisa K.'s tips will be adding it to my Christmas treat lists! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really interesting! I made it without the chocolate dipping and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToniSueJackson
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I love this candy! My grandma used to buy it when I was young, but I could never find it in the stores. My sister know a store that carries it at Christmas, however,she likes this much better.I have been making it for the last 3 years, for some reason this year the first batch was the best I have ever made. Too bad the other batches have not come out so great. Baking it does work very good but the taste seems a little off to me. I will keep making this for years, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirstin Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up on this in Wisconsin, we bought it from the store and it was a favorite Christmas treat. When we moved to Oklahoma when I was a teenager, no one had heard of it and it was not commercially available in any of the stores. I was so glad I still had the recipe from my junior high Holiday Foods class, it is the same as this recipe. It makes a great gift for our local friends since it is such a novelty here, everyone seems to fall in love with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I just made this for the third time:( The first time cooked to 300 on the candy thermometer and it was a mess and filled up my 10x13 pan up the sides and was so hard to try and break apart. I think I might have had temp a little too high, they said it tasted like burnt marshmallows. The second time I tried cooking just under 300 and poured it onto a large pizza pan and was too sticky and not airy. I tried breaking in and put in a ziplock and it all stuck together. This third and final time I cooked to exactly 310 (slowly) I used the 10x13 pan again and it filled it up 3/4 the way up the sides...it looks glossy on the top but is full of holes and pockets when broken apart. It did not break easily either, it splintered apart and flaked instead of being in nice pieces for the most part, got some nicer ones. It was good for having the ingredients on hand but feel like I wasted them. I give up on this one. The picture made me want to try it and it sounded fool-proof. Guess not for me anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
really good, wish it would keep better, made it as Christmas gifts & it was sweating by 3rd day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I don't see what he big deal is about this candy. The candy itself just tasted like sugar. The only thing that gave it any flavor was the chocolate. Might as well cover bread with the chocolate and eat that, it would taste the same. The candy crumbled into dust when I tried to break it. I put the candy in a zip loc bag to break it up. It ended up with sharp shards, almost like broken glass, and a bunch of crumbs in the bag. Looked nothing like the nice squared of candy in the pics. I guess the people giving this big ratings are being influenced by childhood memories, based on the comments they make in their reviews because I see nothing special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is just like sponge candy, If you safe the crumb's you cam use them for ontop of your favorite ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States