Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is JUST LIKE I remember it growing up!! It was amazingly easy to make and a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is great! I have tried a lot of different reipes, and this one is a good one. For the person who said it smells like campfire marshmallows burning; you are probably cooking it on too high heat. I used to burn mine all the time, because I was in a hurry to get it up to the required temperature on the candy thermometer. I have learned to cook it slower, and it turns out every time. I also use light corn syrup, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geri_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This recipe is lots of fun! Feels like a science experiment when you add the baking soda and it grows three times the size within seconds! Husband doesn't like the dark syrup taste, so I tried light corn syrup. Still tastes like campfire marshmallows (which I like, he doesn't) so I must be burning something even though I can't see it. I dipped them 1/2 way in chocolate and different holiday sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Taylor
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was a lot easier to make then I expected it to be - the key is YES! Following the recipe exactly. I wouldn't do it without a candy thermometre. An excellent and I think unique taste when compared with many things we make in the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I remember eating this candy during the holidays when I was a child (30+ years ago!). I haven't seen it to buy for a long time, so had to try out the recipe. It was just as I remembered. It was easy to make, although mine easily filled the pan. I also prefer using semi-sweet chocolate to coat instead of the other coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
this recipe was too hard to make, even for my father, who is a chef. and also, it didnt come out very well. i dont recomend making this, no offense to the person who put it on the website. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I'm not a fan of angel food candy. I made this for my husband one Christmas after I found out how much it costs to buy it. He was crazy for it and let all his friends know that I make the best angel food candy. Now I have requests for it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is the exact recipe my great-grandmother passed down. If made properly, it is the most wonderful candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Terrific! Lot's of fun to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe makes what I have commonly seen called honeycomb or sea foam candy. The recipe is easy and tastes terrific! It has been added to the list of required candy making for the holidays! I agree with the previous comments that it is much better if dipped in real chocolate rather than the chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States